> "Diabolik" escreveu:
>>> "Sven Mischkies" escreveu:
>>>> It's a funny one. Sanchez only wants the pen, but Sirigu grabs him
>>>> clearly. Sirigu made it too easy to give the pen, he shouldn't come out
>>>> that forcefully.
>>> People seem to forget that it can be a dive *and* a foul.
>> I don't think so, because the dive *creates* the foul,
> Not necessarily. Sometimes there is a foul, but the fouled player
> chooses to dive or embellish the fall to get a call, instead of trying
> to keep up with the play. So it's possible to have a foul and a dive in
> the same play.
>> so for me it can only be a dive.
> I'd be willing to agree that the Sanchez penalty against PSG is
It is debatable, but I think very few people would not at least
understand why it is given. (speaking of Given, this was a bit like
Given's play on Anelka, much debated a while ago, which IMHO should have
been a penalty as well).
Sanchez was definitely looking for a penalty, and looked as though he
was initiating a deliberate fall, but there is no doubt that Sirigu
grabbed his ankle, and that makes it a penalty, since it definitely
impeded his progress, and would have made it harder for him to maintain
his balance (had he chosen not to fall down, a decision I think he could
have made), or to catch up the the ball that he had clearly played by
The other thing is that a rash challenge like this is still a foul even
if no contact is made (eg. the player successfully hurdles the GK). The
GK did not get to the ball first and it could be argued that even
without the hand grab, the force and position of the challenge helped
stop a scoring chance.
It's a split second matter, and not a clear cut situation.
> Sirigu could have been smarter on the play. The decision to award a
> penalty, while debatable, is easily justifiable.
> The only 100% sure refereeing mistake leading to a goal in this game was
> Ibrahimovic's offside position in the first equalizer.
> Luiz Mello