Reiziger's throw ins

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Bruce Scott TO » Mon, 28 Jun 2004 23:23:19


Watching last night, I cannot help but to believe Reiziger's throw in
technique is illegal.  He drags the ball up over his shoulder, not his
head, and in some cases it is enough to make both his hands come up on
one side of his head (the right).

Isn't that illegal on both counts?

--
cu,
Bruce

drift wave turbulence:  http://www.rzg.mpg.de/~bds/

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Mark Gallaghe » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 00:00:20


Quote:
> Watching last night, I cannot help but to believe Reiziger's throw in
> technique is illegal.  He drags the ball up over his shoulder, not his
> head, and in some cases it is enough to make both his hands come up on
> one side of his head (the right).

> Isn't that illegal on both counts?

I saw *one* legal throw from Reiziger[0] the whole game.  Ironically
enough, it came immediately after Ljungberg was pulled up for a foul
throw[1].

A legal throw...
- Is taken with both feet at least partially on or behind the touchline
- Is taken from the point where it crossed the touchline[2]
- Is taken facing the field of play
- Is taken with the ball being thrown, in one smooth motion, *straight*
  over the head with both hands

Usual infringements...
- The player has one or both feet entirely in the field of play
  (excluding the touchline)
- The player "cheats" his way down the line, so that he takes the throw
  from a fair way away from where it went out[3]
- The player lifts his foot while throwing
- The player halts in the middle of his throw, usually to deceive a
  defender by changing direction or even just throwing off his timing
- The player attempts to spin the ball as it goes over his head.  This
  usually means it doesn't go straight over his head, and is (I think)
  what Reiziger was attempting in the SWE/NED game.  
- The player does not start his throw from behind his head

Reiziger did not always throw the ball straight over his head.  He also
seemed to have lifted his foot at least once towards the end of normal
time there; we didn't get a good camera angle, but the way he was
leaning forward suggested it.

I'm rather surprised.  You don't often see foul throws called at this
sort of game, but that's mostly because the players are good enough
that they don't commit them.

[0] Admittedly I wasn't paying attention to all of them.  After a while
    his technique made my teeth stand on edge, and I had to look
    away...
[1] And I wasn't paying attention to Ljungberg's throw, either.  Anyone
    notice what he did wrong? (I've run out of blank and tape-overable
    tapes)
[2] Or near enough to.  I usually give about six feet latitude, more if
    I can't remember/couldn't tell where it went out.
[3] Player on Saturday picked the ball up from almost the exact spot it
    went out (there were a number of kitbags behind the touchline,
    which stopped it going too far), walked forward down the line.  I
    called "that'll do, thanks, mate!" and held up my hand.  He started
    running, and threw it in after travelling several feet further (in
    other words, he'd gained about five or six metres by the time he
    released the ball, even though everyone on the pitch knew exactly
    where it went out).  Seemed surprised to be called on a foul throw.

--
Mark Gallagher
"He's dead, Jim.  You grab his tricorder, I'll get his wallet."
Web: http://donotuselifts.net/
Email: [first initial] dot [surname] at canberra dot edu dot au

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Alessandro Riol » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 03:26:49


Quote:

> The ***ing Dutch CHEATED with their throw-ins!!!
> We wuz ROBBED!!!

Could I use that as signature? :-ppppp

--
ale
http://SportToday.org/
 "The ***ing Dutch CHEATED with their throw-ins!!!
We wuz ROBBED!!!", by Anders Thelemyr

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Magnus Homan » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 03:38:37

Quote:

> I'm rather surprised.  You don't often see foul throws called at this
> sort of game, but that's mostly because the players are good enough
> that they don't commit them.

I happens now and again I think, it almost seems like the ref call it everyr
three games or so just to keep the player from not overdoing it.

How many have we had this E?C I can remember two, that's all.

Homann

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by John Deeri » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 04:48:13

Correct, I saw it also, I have been called for foul throws by a
referee for the same type of thing.

The ball must come from behind the head and no twisting of body/back
etc


Quote:
> Watching last night, I cannot help but to believe Reiziger's throw in
> technique is illegal.  He drags the ball up over his shoulder, not his
> head, and in some cases it is enough to make both his hands come up on
> one side of his head (the right).

> Isn't that illegal on both counts?

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Alessandro Riol » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 05:58:23


Quote:

> You change my spelling of fcuking?

Excuse me, I was guessing it was a mispelling ;-)

Quote:
> (No, this one is copyrighted!)

So I did good to change that :-p

--
ale
http://www.sen.it
rara temporum felicitate, ubi sentire
quae velis, et quae sentias dicere, licet

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Mike » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 15:58:44



Quote:
> Watching last night, I cannot help but to believe Reiziger's throw in
> technique is illegal.  He drags the ball up over his shoulder, not his
> head, and in some cases it is enough to make both his hands come up on
> one side of his head (the right).

> Isn't that illegal on both counts?

> --
> cu,
> Bruce

> drift wave turbulence:  http://www.rzg.mpg.de/~bds/

It seems to be down to the individual ref's interpretation of the rules.
This is from the FA's site:

At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
  a.. faces the field of play
  b.. has part of each foot either on the touchline or on the ground outside
the touch line
  c.. uses both hands
  d.. delivers the ball from behind and over his head
Is Reiziger using both hands?  Does the ball pass over his head?

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Roman Figa » Tue, 29 Jun 2004 19:06:21

Quote:

>This is from the FA's site:

>At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
>  a.. faces the field of play
>  b.. has part of each foot either on the touchline or on the ground outside
>the touch line
>  c.. uses both hands
>  d.. delivers the ball from behind and over his head
>Is Reiziger using both hands?  Does the ball pass over his head?

Yes and yes. I think R. is doing it legally on all counts.

Roman

--
"They misunderestimated me." (George W. Bush)

 
 
 

Reiziger's throw ins

Post by Bruce Scott TO » Wed, 30 Jun 2004 03:16:15

|>
|> >This is from the FA's site:
|> >
|> >At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
|> >  a.. faces the field of play
|> >  b.. has part of each foot either on the touchline or on the ground outside
|> >the touch line
|> >  c.. uses both hands
|> >  d.. delivers the ball from behind and over his head
|> >Is Reiziger using both hands?  Does the ball pass over his head?
|> >
|> Yes and yes. I think R. is doing it legally on all counts.

Several times it was straight over his right shoulder.

--
cu,
Bruce

drift wave turbulence:  http://www.rzg.mpg.de/~bds/