> One very unique dismissal (probably the only one of its kind in
>test history) that comes to my mind is the dismissal of Madan Lal in the
>Old Trafford test of 1974. I think the bowler was Chris Old, but I'm
>not sure. Madan Lal was bowled, the unique feature of this dismissal
>being that the leg and off stumps were uprooted, whereas the middle
>stump was still upright. I remember seeing a photograph of this
> Prasad S.Kulkarni
I, too, remember reading about this incident, though I haven't had the
fortune to see this amazing "delivery."
If I am not mistaken, Mike Hendrick was the bowler. The ball, apparently,
hit the top of the leg stump first, and richochet (sp) towards the off
stick. Meanwhile, the leg wicket was knocked off the ground.
Then, on its way to the off stump, it knocked the middle stump, which
went back, and then came to its original position again. The off-stick,
however, couldn't overcome the blow, and was also knocked off the ground.
Really amazing! In fact, the only other instance that I can think of,
which could draw a parallel as far as being of interest is concerned,
took place in a first class match, I don't know when. It was excessively
hot, and the players were very ritually following the routine. The batsmen
were apparently, having a better time than the bowlers, and were trying
not to give their opponents a chance of smiling.
Suddenly, all the fielders went up in e***ment. And then, the very next
second, their hands returned to earth in an absolute perplexion. They could
not describe what had just happened. Of course their bowler had just dislod-
ged the stumps, but the bails were still intact. And to prove that they were
not dreaming, the middle stump was lying a couple of yards behind the crease.
The umpire could not order the batsman to go and take a rest, because the
bails were still on.
This is what actually happened: In the hot temperature, the warnish of the
bails melted, and formed a single bail. Thus, when the middle stick was sent
cart-wheeling off the ground, it did not budge.
The batsman, the column in my magazine said, went on to add 183 runs to his
account before, ironically, being bowled.
I don't know how far this incident is true, or if it is any form of reality
at all. SO, I would confirm if somebody could add a few words to it.