> apparantly the Australians called back a SA batsman (happy Steve and Ian?
> :}) after Blewett didnt quite take a catch, even tho the umpire had given
> the batter out...
> can anybody elaborate on this, as i was listening on radio and wasnt able
> catch allt he details...
> and would have the SA players (or any other nation) called back an Aussie
> the same situation? I'm saying they wouldnt, just pondering...
Ben in this situation Ponting was fielding at silly point, dived forward
took the catch, then spilled it. The TV replay was very clear and he
signaled that he hadn't held it as soon as he was able. The umpire was
obstructed from seeing him spill the ball as it squeezed out on his left
hand side while he was laying on the ground (the ump was on his right).
IMO Cronje and RSA would have done the same. Cronje has infact recalled a
batsman before (ie withdrawn the appeal - bat/pad catch Steve Fleming
offered at Newlands I think but the details evade me, I'm sure Bob Dubery
will remember). Another note may be to say that with the clarity of the
situation on TV any player that claimed the catch may well have never
played for his country again, so I suppose one could say (with reference to
this specific occurance) a player would be forced to indicate he hadn't
taken it. Personally I like Ponting as a player and would have hated it if
he had tarnished my view of him in this manner. There seemed to me to be
the usual niggle between the two teams, but thats the way they play against
each other and I believe the majority of the time it is done in the spirit
of competitiveness and that within this context the game is played fairly.
In short even if the camera wasn't able to confirm Ponting had dropped the
catch, I think he would have indicated he hadn't held it and likewise the
rest of the players of both teams would have done the same.