Having followed this and the related threads for a few days, I read up
the laws in my 1992 Wisden last night. Some interesting facts were
>1) You CAN be out Retired (it's just that you haven't been dismissed).
Correct. The law states that if a batsman retires injured or for any
other unavoidable reason, he may resume his innings at the fall of any
subsequent wicket if he is fit to do so. If he retires for any other
reason, he may not resume his innings and "Retired Out" will be entered
in the scorebook.
>2) To be timed out, you have to have taken longer than 2 minutes from the time
> the last batsman being out, to get on the field of play (ie; cross the
Also correct, with the proviso that the batsman must have WILFULLY taken
longer than two minutes and that the umpire at the bowler's end has
satisfied himself of this fact. In other words, it's at the umpire's
>3) Handled the ball is a bit of a grey area, because if the fielding side
> indicate (in some way) that it's ok to pick the ball up, then if you (as
> the batsman) DO touch the ball, you cannot be given out. However, I guess
> the umpire must have seen the indication by the fielding side (like a lot
> of umpiring, a lot can be gained by reading body language).
Correct again in all respects.
>4) Caught is caught (no matter who catches it).
>5) Played on IS the same as bowled. It just means that before the ball hits
> the stumps, it hit part of your bat.
>6) With "hit the ball twice", you can only do this if it is in the interests
> of protecting your wicket. You (as the batsman) may NOT profit from this.
> If the umpire is absolutely sure that the wicket was not in danger, then
> the batsman is out.
A case for extreme discretion by the umpire. He is a lot further away
from the incident than the batsman is and is probably not in a position
to be able to accurately judge the trajectory of the ball after it was
first struck. I can't see any umpire giving any batsman out for hitting
the ball a second time unless the batsman is clearly trying to profit by
his action or simply showing dissension.
>Here is the list again of ways of being out (and let it be the last!!!!):
> 1) BOWLED
> 2) CAUGHT
> 3) L.B.W (but not if you kick the ball away in the interests of
protecting your wicket)
Assuming, of course, that the ball hit the bat first!
> 4) RUN OUT
> 5) TIMED OUT
> 6) HIT WICKET i.e, the bat hits the wicket while the ball is live.
> 7) OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD
> 8) STUMPED
> 9) HANDLED THE BALL
>10) HIT THE BALL TWICE
>11) RETIRED (you're out, it's just that you're not dismissed, if you
know what I mean).
>Retired Hurt does NOT count as a way of being out.
So there we are; there are indeed at least eleven ways to be out, and
there may even be a twelfth; I need to check Law 43 on Unfair Play this
evening. So the Trivial Pursuit game card which states that there are
ten is WRONG.
I also discovered a very interesting fact about the LBW law which I will
post tomorrow as I need the Wisden handy for reference and I don't have
it here at work (I usually write my articles on my PC at home; I was
going to do this one last night until I discovered that my 20-month-old
daughter had been feeding 10p pieces to the A drive :-S By the time I
got them out of there, it was too late to start on it).
David A. Wheeler, Motorola Ltd., Camberley, Surrey, England