Irani Trophy Oct 1-5 ? Handled the Ball

Irani Trophy Oct 1-5 ? Handled the Ball

Post by Alan R Tuffe » Wed, 17 Dec 1997 04:00:00


I see from the December edition of Wisden Cricket Monthly that 'Bombay's
Jatin Paranjpe was given out "hit the ball twice" ? before being recalled
by Rest captain Anil Kumble?'

I collect rare dismissals for the purpose of instruction in umpiring. Can
anyone provide a detailed account of what happened?. Thanks.

Alan
http//:www.internet-design.ie/cricket-umpiring

 
 
 

Irani Trophy Oct 1-5 ? Handled the Ball

Post by j sreedh » Wed, 17 Dec 1997 04:00:00


Quote:
>I see from the December edition of Wisden Cricket Monthly that 'Bombay's
>Jatin Paranjpe was given out "hit the ball twice"  before being recalled
>by Rest captain Anil Kumble'
>I collect rare dismissals for the purpose of instruction in umpiring. Can
>anyone provide a detailed account of what happened?. Thanks.

 I remember this incident, but not sure whether it was for
"handled the ball", or "hit the ball twice". I append a couple
of newspaper clippings I had saved from that game, and they
seem to contradict each other. You can probably
read about it in CricInfo too.

FROM MEMORY: Paranjpe was on 80+, and had just
clobbered Kumble for a 6 or two. :-) What a way for a star
bowler to be treated! Soon after that, Paranjpe defended a ball from
Kumble...then did something to it (patted to a fielder?). Out
of sheer irritation/petulance Kumble appealed and the umpire had no
option but to give Paranjpe out. Then, as Paranjpe was on his way to
the pavilion, Kumble perhaps realized what he had done and recalled him.

Ciao,
Sreedhar

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

      Thursday 2 October 1997

              Paranjpe's century keeps Mumbai afloat

              By R K Bowrie

              The Times of India News Service

<snip>

Paranjpe kept going, mixing caution and
aggression with nicety and with Manjrekar batting
sedately, the pair added 72 runs before Paranjpe
made his exit. He smote Kapoor for a straight
six. but played a loose stroke to next ball to be
caught at cover by Kumble. Paranjpe's 113 took
him 296 minutes and 243 balls.

Earlier, in a freak incident, Paranjpe when on
81, was given out to Kumble's appeal as he patted
the ball twice. However, Kumble called him back.

<snip>
%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

http://SportToday.org/

October 1, 1997
                   Paranjpe sparkles; Honours even on first day

Lefthander Jatin Paranjpe scored a dazzling maiden hundred on the
opening day of the Irani Trophy, enabling Bombay to score 237 for
five. But Rest of India's late strike meant both teams shared the
first day's honours at the ***hede Stadium.

Paranjpe played some rousing shots -- he hit seven fours and five
sixes -- in his 113 as Bombay, winners of the Trophy 13 times, stayed
in charge most of the day. In the last hour, the visitors salvaged
lost pride by grabbing three quick wickets in the last hour.  Another
notable success for the hosts: Opener Wasim Jaffer with 83.

The contest was also marred by a bizarre incident involving the day's
hero. At 84, the southpaw was given out handling the ball, but Rest of
India skipper Anil Kumble, who had appealed when the batsman pushed
the ball to a fielder, recanted and recalled Paranjpe to the
crease. Paranjpe celebrated his second life by hitting two more sixes.

<snip>

Leftarm spinner Venkatpathy Raju should have got Paranjpe twice, when
the batsman was on 25 and 43.  Paranjpe appeared to have got a huge
nick on his pads, but umpire K Murali turned down the appeal for a
catch.  Paranjpe later smashed the ball to Raju, but the diminutive
Hyderabad bowler could not latch on to the return catch.

These two hiccups apart, Paranjpe demonstrated Bombay's customary
bench strength. On a pitch which showed sudden bounce he danced out to
hit sixes. He first lofted Raju over mid-on for a six and when Kumble
replaced him he greeted him with another six. When Raju returned, he
was smothered first with a front foot drive and then a swing over his
head for boundaries.

Soon after lunch which was taken at 99 for one (Paranjpe, 45), the
batsman was stranded in the middle of the pitch, but Pankaj Dharmani's
throw was wilder than Tarzan. Paranjpe promptly made Kumble pay for
the error with another six.

The legspinner -- perhaps riled by the manner in which he was treated
by a non-Test playing cricketer -- appealed when Paranjpe pushed the
ball to the fielder after playing it down. It was a gesture seen often
enough on the field, but technically it is out. Kumble -- probably
unwilling to stir a hornet's nest -- then changed his mind after
Murali had raised the finger and recalled Paranjpe.

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

www.deccanherald.com

                  Jaffer, Paranjpe keep Rest attack at bay

                           From Satish Viswanathan

                               DH News Service

                                MUMBAI, Oct 1

<snip>

But whatever the state of the wicket, due credit has to be given to
both Jaffer and Paranjpe, the latter going to complete his seventh
first class ton. They were fortunate on a few occasions, brilliant on
many, averaging out to a most impressive performance.

Jaffer (113, 243b, 7x4, 5x6) was missed by Mongia off Kumble when on
31.  Paranjpe was lucky to survive a caught and bowled chance and a
confident shout for a catch at short leg, both off Raju, along with a
simple run out chance all before he had made 60. He was even called
back when umpire Murali was forced, in response to an appeal, to rule
him out for hitting the ball twice. Still when either of the duo
drove, the class was apparent.

<snip>

Jaffer, the more inexperienced of the two, was severe on anything on
and around his legs, as he was when given the width to drive to cover,
Paranjpe was severe on anything and everything. There was slow turn to
be had for the spinners, but only when Paranjpe stayed in his
crease. Six times he stepped out, always with maiximum effect, the
ball sailing well over the boundary, sometimes into the stands
even. But his best was when he stood and lifted Kumble, bowling his
first over, over midwicket. With that one stroke, Paranjpe signalled
that he was ready for the big time.

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

 
 
 

Irani Trophy Oct 1-5 ? Handled the Ball

Post by Mike Holman » Wed, 17 Dec 1997 04:00:00


Quote:

>>I see from the December edition of Wisden Cricket Monthly that 'Bombay's
>>Jatin Paranjpe was given out "hit the ball twice"  before being recalled
>>by Rest captain Anil Kumble'

>>I collect rare dismissals for the purpose of instruction in umpiring. Can
>>anyone provide a detailed account of what happened?. Thanks.

> I remember this incident, but not sure whether it was for
>"handled the ball", or "hit the ball twice". I append a couple
>of newspaper clippings I had saved from that game, and they
>seem to contradict each other. You can probably
>read about it in CricInfo too.

<snipperoo>
>The contest was also marred by a bizarre incident involving the day's
>hero. At 84, the southpaw was given out handling the ball, but Rest of
>India skipper Anil Kumble, who had appealed when the batsman pushed
>the ball to a fielder, recanted and recalled Paranjpe to the
>crease. Paranjpe celebrated his second life by hitting two more sixes.

<snipperoo>

This is the clipping which mentions Handled The Ball. It actually says
that the batsman pushed the ball to a fielder, so I think that what we
have is a case of reporter failing to fully engage brain before typing
rather than there being any particular doubt about it really being for
Hit The Ball Twice.

It is, though, a nice little story of someone reproaching themselves for
being petty for the wrong reason.

Cheers,

Mike

The exciting AFU FAQ, and many other things, may be found at
http://www.urbanlegends.com