>Why doesn't the 'handled the ball' wicket go to the bowler?
>What are the rules behind it.
>I guess it should be treated somewhat similar to a hit wicket.
>Both the cases the batsman does the mistake more or less by instinct
>and is unintentional. So, why is it treated differently?
Because Handled The Ball refers to *any* handling of the ball by the
batsman. In the Gooch and Swaugh cases, yes, it looks immensely like the
bowler having done the damage. But if a batsman takes it into his head
to pick the ball up and throw it at the keeper, that's hardly the
1888 - last time England won a 3-match series after going one down
1979 - last time England completed four consecutive series wins
2001 - England win two successive series in Asia for the first time