Overseas Players In County Cricket

Overseas Players In County Cricket

Post by Don Hugh » Sat, 17 Apr 1993 16:56:08


> I guess this question is common one asked a lot during the months
> of April-June...(maybe got to be in cricinfo's faq :)).., but I guess
> to start it off, who are the foreign players playing for each county.
> (in England of course :))

Foreign players are as follows:

Derbyshire       : Ian Bishop (WI)
                   Ole Mortenson (Den)
Durham           : Anderson Cummins (WI)
Essex            : Salim Malik (Pak)
Glamorgan        : Viv Richards (WI)
                   Roland Lefevbre (Hol)
Hampshire        : Malcolm Marshall (WI)
Kent             : Carl Hooper (WI)
Lancashire       : Wasim Akram (Pak)
Leicestershire   : Winston Benjamin (WI)
Middlesex        : Desmond Haynes (WI)
Northamptonshire : Curtly Ambrose (WI)
                   Kevin Curran (Zim)
Nottinghamshire  : Chris Cairns (NZ)
Somerset         : Mushtaq Ahmed (Pak)
                   Andre Van Troost (Hol)
Surrey           : Waqar Younis (Pak)
Sussex           : Franklyn Stephenson (WI)
Warwickshire     : Allen Donald (SA)
Worcestershire   : Kenny Benjamin (WI)
Yorkshire        : Richie Richardson (WI)

So, you can see that the majority are WI, 12 in all of which 8 are fast
bowlers (even West Indians who have retired from international cricket
or can't make the WI team are there!). Pakistani bowlers are also in demand.

Players who are from European Community countries are allowed to play county
cricket without being classed as "overseas", hence the players from Denmark
and Holland on the list (plus Curran, who is an Irish passport holder).


Overseas Players In County Cricket

Post by Giha » Sat, 17 Apr 1993 20:35:09

| Article: 30693 of rec.sport.cricket

I think C.A. Walsh (WI) of Gloucestershire is missing in this list.