DWhat do the rules say about the possible situation where batsman on strike hitsthe ball out into the covers and takes a run. The cover fielder picks up the ball and throws to the stumps at the bowlers end, knocking all three out of the ground (it was a powerful throw ok?). The ball then flies off out to the leg side, but the batsman was in when the ball hit, so they take an overthrow.
The fielder then picks up and throws to the stumps at the wicketkeepers end, knocking all three of them out of the ground as well. The batsman running to that end made it back in time. The ball flies away from the stumps again, leaving both batsmen running, and no stumps standing.
Can the batsmen just keep on running until the close of play? If all the stumps are out of the ground, the fielding side cannot hit them and the batsmen cannot be out. Some clarification of this would be very nice.