can you play with different racquets for serve/return of serve?

can you play with different racquets for serve/return of serve?

Post by go raptor » Wed, 14 Jan 2004 03:53:50


could you play with different racquet for serve (power) and return of
serve (control)?

if yes, does anyone do it?

if not, is it a rule or just a custom (local rule - i'm told that out
of courtesy, pga golfers only play with one type of ball i.e. not long
ball for par 5 and control ball for par 3).

 
 
 

can you play with different racquets for serve/return of serve?

Post by Sakari Lu » Wed, 14 Jan 2004 05:02:37



Quote:
>could you play with different racquet for serve (power) and return of
>serve (control)?

>if yes, does anyone do it?

I saw Jerome Golmard do that when he played Davis Cup here in 1998.

 
 
 

can you play with different racquets for serve/return of serve?

Post by Steve Jaro » Wed, 14 Jan 2004 10:18:53


Quote:
> could you play with different racquet for serve (power) and return of
> serve (control)?

Yes. You can always play with any legal racket you want to.

--
"if federal judges have the final word over its meaning,
the Constitution would be a mere thing of wax in the hands
of the judiciary, which they may twist and shape into any form
they please".

- Thomas Jefferson

 
 
 

can you play with different racquets for serve/return of serve?

Post by Michael Scarpit » Wed, 14 Jan 2004 10:26:37

Quote:

> could you play with different racquet for serve (power) and return of
> serve (control)?

> if yes, does anyone do it?

> if not, is it a rule or just a custom (local rule - i'm told that out
> of courtesy, pga golfers only play with one type of ball i.e. not long
> ball for par 5 and control ball for par 3).

Of course. I play doubles a lot, and use two or three different
racquets of different weights and balance depending on the situation
and the server's tactics.
 
 
 

can you play with different racquets for serve/return of serve?

Post by Brissi » Wed, 14 Jan 2004 16:11:15



Quote:
>could you play with different racquet for serve (power) and return of
>serve (control)?

>if yes, does anyone do it?

One problem would be, sponsorship. The "racquet used by ..." line
wouldn't work as well if they used 2 different types of racquets.