rules - second serve hits first serve in service box

rules - second serve hits first serve in service box

Post by Michael G. Yo » Tue, 22 Apr 1997 04:00:00


What's the ruling and can you quote it.
Server's first serve is long, receiver calls it long, hits it into net causing
it to roll about three feet back toward receiver.
Server waits and motions to the ball, receiver says don't worry about it, not
in my way.
Server's second serve hits the ball lying in the service box.

Is the ball in play?
Is it a fault?
Is it a let?
Is it server's point?

 
 
 

rules - second serve hits first serve in service box

Post by Brian Damian » Tue, 22 Apr 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

> What's the ruling and can you quote it.
> Server's first serve is long, receiver calls it long, hits it into
> net causing
> it to roll about three feet back toward receiver.
> Server waits and motions to the ball, receiver says don't worry
> about it, not
> in my way.
> Server's second serve hits the ball lying in the service box.

> Is the ball in play?
> Is it a fault?
> Is it a let?
> Is it server's point?

 If the serve was a legal serve and struck the ball than the ball is in
play and if the receiver can't make a play they lose the point.  When
you don't clear a ball from your court you risk that the ball may
actually be struck on either a serve or perhaps during the rally, and
the chances of adjusting after it hits is very slim, it usually means
your gonna lose the point.  M***of the story is clear the damn balls
away, you actually have a much better chance of stepping on the thing
and blowing out your ankle.

 
 
 

rules - second serve hits first serve in service box

Post by Tito E. Gervac » Tue, 22 Apr 1997 04:00:00


Quote:

> What's the ruling and can you quote it.
> Server's first serve is long, receiver calls it long, hits it into net
causing
> it to roll about three feet back toward receiver.
> Server waits and motions to the ball, receiver says don't worry about it, not
> in my way.
> Server's second serve hits the ball lying in the service box.

> Is the ball in play?

  If not a let, YES.
Quote:
> Is it a fault?
  NO.
> Is it a let?

  If ball hit net first, YES.
Quote:
> Is it server's point?

  If not a let, and receiver did not return ball into play, YES.

Someone may confirm or refute.. I did not read the rules prior to
making this response.

 
 
 

rules - second serve hits first serve in service box

Post by chris nelso » Tue, 22 Apr 1997 04:00:00

If the ball offending ball is on the playing court and the server hits
it
The the point is good and over when the loose ball is struck.
Para 5 pg 229 ITF umpires handbook 1982

 
 
 

rules - second serve hits first serve in service box

Post by Manuel SAUVAG » Wed, 23 Apr 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

> What's the ruling and can you quote it.
> Server's first serve is long, receiver calls it long, hits it into net causing
> it to roll about three feet back toward receiver.
> Server waits and motions to the ball, receiver says don't worry about it, not
> in my way.
> Server's second serve hits the ball lying in the service box.

> Is the ball in play?

The rally must go on and server has to hit the good ball
(the one that server played!)

Quote:
> Is it a fault?

Insofar as receiver hits the good ball, there is no fault.
But if receiver can't hit the ball back, it's his own fault hehehe!

Quote:
> Is it a let?

Same rules as usual.

Quote:
> Is it server's point?

Depends on the rally :o) !

This case looks like whenever the server's ball hits the post and
falls into the service box...
--

   Universit           Manuel SAUVAGE                 _  O  _  
        de                   I Today is worth         o \/ \/ o
         Bordeaux I               II  Tomorrows         (o -)
=====================================================ooO=( )=Ooo==
    http://www.emi.u-bordeaux.fr/~sauvage