RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Rust » Fri, 12 Apr 1996 04:00:00


Here's a rules question for everybody. Here's the situation:
In a high school tennis match, our opponents (team A) were serving. Their
first serve was no good and they then proceeded to hit their 2nd serve.
After hitting their second serve, I return the serve. Suddenly,while the
ball is still in play, a ball from another court rolls onto our court.
Our opponents (team A) call a let because the stray ball got in their
way. Because of the let, do they just get to hit their second serve, or
do they get 2 serves? The coach of the opponents said 2 serves were to be
given. I don't understand. If that is true, that has to be one of the
most stupidest rules I've ever seen.
Thanks, -Rusty
 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Hieu Dova » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

> Here's a rules question for everybody. Here's the situation:
> In a high school tennis match, our opponents (team A) were serving. Their
> first serve was no good and they then proceeded to hit their 2nd serve.
> After hitting their second serve, I return the serve. Suddenly,while the
> ball is still in play, a ball from another court rolls onto our court.
> Our opponents (team A) call a let because the stray ball got in their
> way. Because of the let, do they just get to hit their second serve, or
> do they get 2 serves? The coach of the opponents said 2 serves were to be
> given. I don't understand. If that is true, that has to be one of the
> most stupidest rules I've ever seen.
> Thanks, -Rusty

Anytime there is stoppage of play, the server gets 2 serves.  Hieu

 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Jordan Chodor » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

>Here's a rules question for everybody. Here's the situation:
>In a high school tennis match, our opponents (team A) were serving. Their
>first serve was no good and they then proceeded to hit their 2nd serve.
>After hitting their second serve, I return the serve. Suddenly,while the
>ball is still in play, a ball from another court rolls onto our court.
>Our opponents (team A) call a let because the stray ball got in their
>way. Because of the let, do they just get to hit their second serve, or
>do they get 2 serves? The coach of the opponents said 2 serves were to be
>given. I don't understand. If that is true, that has to be one of the
>most stupidest rules I've ever seen.
>Thanks, -Rusty

-----> When a let is called solely with respect to one service, that
service only is replayed.  However, when a let is called for some other
reason, such as the interference here from an outside source, the entire
point is replayed.  Thus, your opponents did have two serves coming.

Hope this helps.

-- Jordan

 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Greg Henders » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00


Quote:
>do they get 2 serves? The coach of the opponents said 2 serves were to be
>given. I don't understand. If that is true, that has to be one of the
>most stupidest rules I've ever seen.

The coach was right.  On a let you replay the *entire* point, which started
on the their first serve fault.  

Greg

 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Rust » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

> -----> When a let is called solely with respect to one service, that
> service only is replayed.  However, when a let is called for some other
> reason, such as the interference here from an outside source, the entire
> point is replayed.  Thus, your opponents did have two serves coming.

> Hope this helps.

> -- Jordan

So if I hit a let on my second serve, do I get 1 or 2 serves?  I asked my
coach about this and he said you recieve 2 serves even if the let was on
a second serve. So what is correct?? I always have played you get 1 serve
in this situation.
-Rusty
 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Dan N. Bernar » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00

|> > -----> When a let is called solely with respect to one service, that
|> > service only is replayed.  However, when a let is called for some other
|> > reason, such as the interference here from an outside source, the entire
|> > point is replayed.  Thus, your opponents did have two serves coming.
|> >
|> > Hope this helps.
|> >
|> > -- Jordan
|>
|> So if I hit a let on my second serve, do I get 1 or 2 serves?  I asked my
|> coach about this and he said you recieve 2 serves even if the let was on
|> a second serve. So what is correct?? I always have played you get 1 serve
|> in this situation.
|> -Rusty

If it's the kind of let where the ball hits the net and then lands in the
correct service box then you're entitled to repeat just that serve.

However, if it's the kind of let where Morgana the Kissing Bandit runs on
court to kiss the heck out of you, then I believe you are entitled to two
balls and two serves.

Hope this really helps,

Dan

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dan N. Bernardo                         |     The opinions expressed

http://www.think.com/users/bernardo/    |     Thinking Machines Corporation.

 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by an503.. » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

>Here's a rules question for everybody. Here's the situation:
>In a high school tennis match, our opponents (team A) were serving. Their
>first serve was no good and they then proceeded to hit their 2nd serve.
>After hitting their second serve, I return the serve. Suddenly,while the
>ball is still in play, a ball from another court rolls onto our court.
>Our opponents (team A) call a let because the stray ball got in their
>way. Because of the let, do they just get to hit their second serve, or
>do they get 2 serves? The coach of the opponents said 2 serves were to be
>given. I don't understand. If that is true, that has to be one of the
>most stupidest rules I've ever seen.
>Thanks, -Rusty

yup ..inmost cases you get two serves...but in most aggreed
situations..you only take one..but by the book...its two serves
 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Larry Lars » Sat, 13 Apr 1996 04:00:00


Quote:
>However, if it's the kind of let where Morgana the Kissing Bandit runs on
>court to kiss the heck out of you, then I believe you are entitled to two
>balls and two serves.

...if, at that point, you're any longer interested in tennis.

-- Larry

 
 
 

RULES QUESTION: 2 serves or 1 serve on a let ?

Post by Byron Rakitz » Wed, 17 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:


>> -----> When a let is called solely with respect to one service, that
>> service only is replayed.  However, when a let is called for some other
>> reason, such as the interference here from an outside source, the entire
>> point is replayed.  Thus, your opponents did have two serves coming.

>> Hope this helps.

>> -- Jordan

>So if I hit a let on my second serve, do I get 1 or 2 serves?  I asked my
>coach about this and he said you recieve 2 serves even if the let was on
>a second serve. So what is correct?? I always have played you get 1 serve
>in this situation.
>-Rusty

Jordan is correct: 1 serve for a netcord on the second serve, 2 serves
for any other kind of interruption.
--
Byron Rakitzis                                  Network Appliance

(415) 428-5104                                  Mountain View, CA 94043