serve of Liu Guoliang

serve of Liu Guoliang

Post by Moo » Tue, 14 Mar 2000 04:00:00


Hello!
Is the rule about at the point of contact or does it apply to at every stage
of the serve? You might want to check if at contact he's not behind the
ball!



Quote:
> Hello!

> Please look on http://www.callnetuk.com/home/tabletennis/liu7.jpg
> It seems to me that this serve is illegal, Liu serves behind his body.
> What do you think?

> Dmitry

> --
>  Erwin with his psi can do
>  Calculations quite a few.
>  But one thing has not been seen
>  Just what does psi really mean.

> (Walter Huckel, translated by Felix Bloch)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----
 
 
 

serve of Liu Guoliang

Post by Waqidi Falicof » Tue, 14 Mar 2000 04:00:00

Does anyone have the exact wording of the supposed new service rule change
from the ITTF that was supposedly recently passed?  Is there a new service
rule and if so when does it go into effect?  The ITTF site has nothing on
this at this time.  I would like a definitive answer on this rather than
hearsay.

Waqidi

Quote:

>Hello!
>Is the rule about at the point of contact or does it apply to at every
stage
>of the serve? You might want to check if at contact he's not behind the
>ball!



>> Hello!

>> Please look on http://www.callnetuk.com/home/tabletennis/liu7.jpg
>> It seems to me that this serve is illegal, Liu serves behind his body.
>> What do you think?

>> Dmitry

>> --
>>  Erwin with his psi can do
>>  Calculations quite a few.
>>  But one thing has not been seen
>>  Just what does psi really mean.

>> (Walter Huckel, translated by Felix Bloch)

>---------------------------------------------------------------------------
-
>----


 
 
 

serve of Liu Guoliang

Post by Dmitry M. Medvede » Tue, 14 Mar 2000 04:00:00

Quote:

> Hello!
> Is the rule about at the point of contact or does it apply to at every stage
> of the serve? You might want to check if at contact he's not behind the
> ball!



> > Hello!

> > Please look on http://www.callnetuk.com/home/tabletennis/liu7.jpg
> > It seems to me that this serve is illegal, Liu serves behind his body.
> > What do you think?

You are right, the rule speaks about the moment of contact:

2.6.5 When the ball is struck it shall be behind the server's end line but
not farther back than the part of the server's body, other than his arm,
head or leg, which is farthest from his end line.

The picture does not show the contact point and hence does not say that
the serve is illegal.

Dmitry

--
 Erwin with his psi can do
 Calculations quite a few.
 But one thing has not been seen
 Just what does psi really mean.

(Walter Huckel, translated by Felix Bloch)

 
 
 

serve of Liu Guoliang

Post by Paul Picar » Tue, 14 Mar 2000 04:00:00

Quote:
> Server's end line: is that the end of the table?

If I refrase the last part does it mean:" not further back than the furthest part
of the trunk of the body"

What happens if someone puts so much spin on the serve that the ball jumps back
over the net without the opponent touching it?
Regards
Paul Picard

Quote:
> You are right, the rule speaks about the moment of contact:

> 2.6.5 When the ball is struck it shall be behind the server's end line but
> not farther back than the part of the server's body, other than his arm,
> head or leg, which is farthest from his end line.

> The picture does not show the contact point and hence does not say that
> the serve is illegal.

> Dmitry

> --
>  Erwin with his psi can do
>  Calculations quite a few.
>  But one thing has not been seen
>  Just what does psi really mean.

> (Walter Huckel, translated by Felix Bloch)

 
 
 

serve of Liu Guoliang

Post by Moo » Wed, 15 Mar 2000 04:00:00

The server wins the point.


Quote:
> > Server's end line: is that the end of the table?

> If I refrase the last part does it mean:" not further back than the
furthest part
> of the trunk of the body"

> What happens if someone puts so much spin on the serve that the ball jumps
back
> over the net without the opponent touching it?
> Regards
> Paul Picard

> > You are right, the rule speaks about the moment of contact:

> > 2.6.5 When the ball is struck it shall be behind the server's end line
but
> > not farther back than the part of the server's body, other than his arm,
> > head or leg, which is farthest from his end line.

> > The picture does not show the contact point and hence does not say that
> > the serve is illegal.

> > Dmitry

> > --
> >  Erwin with his psi can do
> >  Calculations quite a few.
> >  But one thing has not been seen
> >  Just what does psi really mean.

> > (Walter Huckel, translated by Felix Bloch)