was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by tere.. » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 02:46:53


Last week I asked:

Quote:
>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>from the 1st or 2nd serve?

Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?
I personally think the point should be replayed from the 2nd
serve since the let was not called on the 1st serve, at which
time the server had a fair opportunity to make an ace but in
this case faulted.
 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by shun.cheu » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 04:55:39

Quote:

>Last week I asked:

>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?
>I personally think the point should be replayed from the 2nd
>serve since the let was not called on the 1st serve, at which
>time the server had a fair opportunity to make an ace but in
>this case faulted.

When there is a let, the players play the point all over.
Therefore, it is replayed from the 1st serve.

--

     AT&T, 480 Red Hill Road, Middletown, NJ,  07748  USA

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by Dan Simo » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 06:01:43

Quote:

>Last week I asked:

>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?

>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus!

Think about this - 1st serve out, 2nd serve in.
Point is played, ball is called out incorrectly and ump
overrules.  Is the point replayed from the first or second
serves?  Answer: first.

| Dan |

--

Associate Programmer                     (914) 789-5378
Advanced Network & Services               Elmsford, NY

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by Greg Henders » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 06:19:33

Quote:

>Last week I asked:

>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?

>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
>60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
>serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?
>I personally think the point should be replayed from the 2nd
>serve since the let was not called on the 1st serve, at which
>time the server had a fair opportunity to make an ace but in
>this case faulted.

This is from the Rules, seems pretty clear to me... i.e. rule 13(b)

RULE 13
The Let

In all cases where a let has to be called under the rules, or to
provide for an interruption to play, it shall have the following
interpretations:

(a) When called solely in respect of a service that one service only
shall be replayed.

(b) When called under any other circumstance, the point shall be
replayed.

Case 1. A service is interrupted by some cause outside those defined
in Rule 14. Should the service only be replayed?

Decision. No the whole point must be replayed.

[USTA Comment: If a delay between first and second serves is caused by
the Receiver, by an official or by an outside interference the whole
point shall be replayed; if the delay is caused by the Server, the
Server has one serve to come.  A spectator's outcry (of "out", "fault" or
other) is not a valid basis for replay of a point, but action should
be taken to prevent a recurrence.]

[USTA Comment: Case 1 refers to a second serve, and the decision means
that if the interruption occurs during delivery of the second service,
the Server gets two serves. Example: On a second service a linesman
calls "fault" and immediately corrects it, the Receiver meanwhile
having let the ball go by. The Server is entitled to two serves, on
this ground: The corrected call means that the Server has put the ball
into play with a good service, and once the ball is in play and a let
is called, the point must be replayed. Note, however, that if the
serve is an unmistakable ace (that is, the Umpire is sure the
erroneous call had no part in the Receiver's inability to play the
ball) the point should be declared for the Server.]

--
 Greg Henderson                         The spaceship with its human cargo
 Intergraph Corporation                  Speeds from star to blazing star.
 Mailstop: NASA                         The captain, humming Handel's Largo,
 Huntsville, AL 35894-0001               Wonders where the hell they are...

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by [Alex Schlessinge » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 07:10:05


Quote:
>Last week I asked:
>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?
>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
>60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
>serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?
>I personally think the point should be replayed from the 2nd
>serve since the let was not called on the 1st serve, at which
>time the server had a fair opportunity to make an ace but in
>this case faulted.

        Uh. Try playing some organized tennis at some point.
If the point is allowed to be played from the second serve, your slimy,
scumy, pushing, cheeting opponent will take any opportunity to make you roll
in your 2 ball.

        "let! I saw a butterfly"
        "let! my shoe was untied"
        "let! it didn't *feel* right"
etc.

        When you get to start the point over completely (with the first step
of any point, the first serve) It doesn't give your opponent any advantage.
Anyway, if your playing your aunt mitilda, don't worry about it, but :)
--


 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by FUSINA GIOVAN » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 09:55:55

Quote:

>Last week I asked:

>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?

The answer I will give you is based on what I've seen on matches on
TV. Whenever a LET is called, the point is re-played from the
beginning, from the 1st serve.....

Quote:
>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
>60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
>serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?
>I personally think the point should be replayed from the 2nd
>serve since the let was not called on the 1st serve, at which
>time the server had a fair opportunity to make an ace but in
>this case faulted.

   Doesn't matter what the consensus is, all that matters is the
 rule that governs the game.
 Also, there is a clear reason behind this LET rule. "LET" is
 something like this : "who *should* have won the point, if
 nothing had happend, all things being equal?".
 It is essential that the point be *entirely* replayed...how can
 you start a point from the second serve? Even in your particular
example?

--Giovanni
.

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by Bill Wal » Wed, 06 Apr 1994 13:18:44

Quote:
>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?

>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus!

The ENTIRE POINT is replayed, which means first serve. I am absolutely
sure of this, and it's been addressed at least a time or two since I
started following the game (late '70s) in the "Ask the Chair"-type columns
that appear in some of the major tennis publications.

Think about it: You get a first serve if something causes undue delay
after you miss a first serve. How could you not get a first serve if
you've already begun playing the point when the let occurs?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

*    Prodigy HVGM83A, CompuServe 73173,3030, America Online WFWalsh     *
*                                                                       *
*      "If you don't want to be foot-faulted, don't foot-fault."        *
*                                                  --Cliff Drysdale     *
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by William Melt » Thu, 07 Apr 1994 07:19:01

Quote:


>Subject: was 1st serve or 2nd serve?
>Date: Mon, 4 Apr 1994 17:46:53 GMT
>Last week I asked:
>>Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
>>commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
>>an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
>>from the 1st or 2nd serve?
>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
>60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
>serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?

You replay the point on its entirety, that is, you start all over again,
including having two serves.

Have a good one!

Bill

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by tere.. » Thu, 07 Apr 1994 08:09:12

Quote:

>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
>60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
>serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?...
>Anyone got a rulebook?

Giovanni replied:

Quote:
>> Doesn't matter what the consensus is, all that matters is the
>> rule that governs the game.

You don't say. I stand enlightened. Giovanni, I suggest you *read*
the whole text of a post before you jump in and make lack-witted
followups like the one above.
 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by James P. Tayl » Thu, 07 Apr 1994 16:08:48

   >Scenario: 1st serve is out, 2nd serve goes in and a rally
   >commences, a ball rolls onto the playing surface from
   >an adjacent court and a let is called. Is the point replayed
   >from the 1st or 2nd serve?

   Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
   with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
   60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
   serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?
   I personally think the point should be replayed from the 2nd
   serve since the let was not called on the 1st serve, at which
   time the server had a fair opportunity to make an ace but in
   this case faulted.

Hey, this is not an opinion: the POINT is replayed.  A point starts with
the FIRST SERVE.  Your logic re: fairness etc. might sound good, but it is
counter to the rules.  The POINT is replayed.  You start again with the
FIRST SERVE.

jim taylor

mit tennis & squash

 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by tere.. » Fri, 08 Apr 1994 08:03:19

yes, but the server could also use the false-let ploy to
get another first-serve after his first serve is out.
 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by FUSINA GIOVAN » Fri, 08 Apr 1994 12:10:20

Quote:


>>Many of you were kind enough to take the time to email me
>>with the answer, unfortunately there was no consensus! About
>>60% thought the point should be replayed from the 1st
>>serve and the remainder, from the 2nd. So what is the answer?...
>>Anyone got a rulebook?

>Giovanni replied:
>>> Doesn't matter what the consensus is, all that matters is the
>>> rule that governs the game.

>You don't say. I stand enlightened. Giovanni, I suggest you *read*
>the whole text of a post before you jump in and make lack-witted
>followups like the one above.

I *read* the whole text, I gave you an answer which is consistent with
the official rules of the game.
NOW, did *you* read my *whole* text? In the first part I answered your
question directly, in the *second* part, I made this remark. I made this
remark because I was getting the impression from your post, that, if there
is no consensus, there is no definite answer.
Thank you
--Giovanni
 
 
 

was 1st serve or 2nd serve?

Post by RANGERS » Sat, 09 Apr 1994 06:12:43

Quote:
> RULE 13
> The Let

> In all cases where a let has to be called under the rules, or to
> provide for an interruption to play, it shall have the following
> interpretations:

> (a) When called solely in respect of a service that one service only
> shall be replayed.

> (b) When called under any other circumstance, the point shall be
> replayed.

> Case 1. A service is interrupted by some cause outside those defined
> in Rule 14. Should the service only be replayed?

> Decision. No the whole point must be replayed.
>                  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
> [USTA Comment: If a delay between first and second serves is caused by
> the Receiver, by an official or by an outside interference the whole

                                  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Quote:
> point shall be replayed; if the delay is caused by the Server, the

  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Quote:
> Server has one serve to come.  A spectator's outcry (of "out", "fault" or
> other) is not a valid basis for replay of a point, but action should
> be taken to prevent a recurrence.]

Since the first serve is a part of an "entire point", the server gets two
serves.  When I played for my HS team, and even saw this while attending a
recent match at Hofstra, a few times the ball from another court flew or rolled
onto the court, and a let was played, with a first serve.  However the let must
be called right away, the player can't take his swing and then say it
interfered.  He must stop right right away, much like when arguing a line call.

David M. Carcagente                          "Hey, I thought I would be the
aka The Phantom                               starting centerfielder for the
aka The Piano Man                             Boston Red Sox... life sucks,

School Phone (516) 463-2397                            --Denis Leary
Home Phone (516) 666-3410                             on expectations