Pitching rule - contact w ground?

Pitching rule - contact w ground?

Post by Ken Mille » Sat, 06 Apr 1996 04:00:00


In the first few HS scrimmages around my parts, there have been some MAJOR
arguments about pitching rules.  Quite a few of my colleagues have been calling
an illegal pitch every time a pitcher allows her pivot foot to come up in the air
off the *** during the delivery.  

The ASA pitching rules, which we use for HS ball in Mass, are very specific.
The pivot foot must remain in contact with the plate until the leading foot touches
the ground, OR the pivot foot may be dragged off the ***, so long as it
maintains contact with the ground.  Hence, the illegal pitch call.

These calls have led to some *** incidents, including the ejection of a
respected coach from a scrimmage (!!).  I anticipate a season of controversy.

I've been talking with quite a few of my fellow umps to make sure that we are
all consistent in calling the rule.  I'm really interested in how the players,
coaches, and other blues on the newsgroup see it.  If I see daylight under the pivot
foot, should I be calling "illegal" every time?   And if you think not, then
how should we call this rule about maintaining contact with the ground??

    - Never in doubt during a game.....
    - But often puzzled on the way home....

    Ken Miller  Rehoboth, MA

 
 
 

Pitching rule - contact w ground?

Post by Slug » Sun, 07 Apr 1996 04:00:00



Quote:
>In the first few HS scrimmages around my parts, there have been some MAJOR
>arguments about pitching rules.  Quite a few of my colleagues have been calling
>an illegal pitch every time a pitcher allows her pivot foot to come up in the air
>off the *** during the delivery.  

>The ASA pitching rules, which we use for HS ball in Mass, are very specific.
>The pivot foot must remain in contact with the plate until the leading foot touches
>the ground, OR the pivot foot may be dragged off the ***, so long as it
>maintains contact with the ground.  Hence, the illegal pitch call.

>    - Never in doubt during a game.....
>    - But often puzzled on the way home....

>    Ken Miller  Rehoboth, MA

No cheat step off the *** with the pivot foot. I can slide ON it
but no step off and no step up and down on it.

Let the pivot foot drag. If the pivot foot comes up and loses contact
with the ground, it's clearly in the air, she's hopping, leaping
without a drag or whatever other illegal interpretation ya wanna give
it.

Tonight I saw a couple of fools doing an NAIA game that called illegal
pitches for the double pump motion. (A windmill motion with a prior
dropping of the hand holding the ball and a backward swing of the
arm). It shouldn't need to be explained here as I have seen the motion
used for 15 years by quite a number of pitchers. The men in blue went
to the car to get a rulebook and after fooling around for 15 minutes,
they said the motion was illegal and could not be used. Oh dear, in a
college game yet. I left, I couldn't take it.

 
 
 

Pitching rule - contact w ground?

Post by Chester L. Buffa » Sun, 07 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

>In the first few HS scrimmages around my parts, there have been some MAJOR
>arguments about pitching rules.  Quite a few of my colleagues have been calling
>an illegal pitch every time a pitcher allows her pivot foot to come up in the air
>off the *** during the delivery.  
>The ASA pitching rules, which we use for HS ball in Mass, are very specific.
>The pivot foot must remain in contact with the plate until the leading foot touches
>the ground, OR the pivot foot may be dragged off the ***, so long as it
>maintains contact with the ground.  Hence, the illegal pitch call.
>These calls have led to some *** incidents, including the ejection of a
>respected coach from a scrimmage (!!).  I anticipate a season of controversy.
>I've been talking with quite a few of my fellow umps to make sure that we are
>all consistent in calling the rule.  I'm really interested in how the players,
>coaches, and other blues on the newsgroup see it.  If I see daylight under the pivot
>foot, should I be calling "illegal" every time?   And if you think not, then
>how should we call this rule about maintaining contact with the ground??
>    - Never in doubt during a game.....
>    - But often puzzled on the way home....
>    Ken Miller  Rehoboth, MA

I too am doing HS games in MA. This is how I and other umpires I work
with call it. The only comment I would make is that once the ball
leaves the pitcher's hand then s/he can do anything with either foot.
Once again I would recommend getting the "Women's And Girl's Fast
Pitch Pitching" video tape (#6929) from ASA for anyone, especially
coaches, who have trouble interpreting the rules. It very clearly
demostrates what is legal and illegal in FP Pitching and no I do not
get a percentage of any tapes sold. I too expect there to be some
controversy this season and all I can do is be consistent with my
calls.

BTW: Our UIC has told us that this year HS is considered JO and we
have to enforce the one foot in the batter's box rule. Is this true
for you also?

Deal's Law of Sailing: The amount of wind will vary inversely with the
number and experience of the people you take on board.

Call em' as ya see em.
Chester L. Buffalo