Nezaam (from the University of Cape Town!!) asked:
>Hi, could anyone tell me what the rule is concerning switch hitting batters.
>Can they switch sides after facing a pitched ball.
Hello Nezaam! Wow. The global village is for real!
They sure can. After each pitch if they like. In fact, there are quite a few
teams that will send their hitters up batting left-handed in a bunting situation
(gives them the extra step to first and makes it a bit easier to drop the bunt
down the 3rd base line), then, if they get 2 strikes, switch them to right-handed
to hit away.
The only restriction on this point is that once the batter is in the box
AND the pitcher is in the pitching position, if the batter steps across the plate
without being granted time, the ball is dead and a strike is called on the batter.
>Also what is the difference between ASA and ISF rules. Is one an adoptation
>of the other, and do any one know the historical root of either one.
You got me there. I've never seen the ISF rules.
Ken Miller / Rehoboth, MA