[real email below]
I have two questions about softball rules that came up in a game the
#1: The batter hits the ball, and it rolls backwards into the batter's
box, across the plate. The catcher picks it up behind the plate, but
before it exits the batter's box. Is the ball fair?
#2: There is a runner on first base. After the ball is hit, the catcher
throws it to the first baseman, who tags first base. Assuming the runner
hasn't been tagged out, does he/she still have to go to second base, or
can they return to first?
2A) In the above scenario, assume that both #1 and #2 have happened. The
first base runner, thinking it was a foul ball, doesn't run, but remains
standing on first base. The first baseman, after receiving the throw
from the catcher, tags the runner (who is standing on the base) but does
NOT tag the base. QUESTION: Is anybody out at this point?
This actually happened and caused a great deal of confusion on both
sides. I'd be curious to know the legalities of these situations.