Rules question

Rules question

Post by George Edward Kolombatovic » Fri, 01 Mar 1996 04:00:00


On Thu, 29 Feb 1996, Gary Lesemann wrote to George Kolombatovich:

Quote:
> It was with great interest that I read your article in the latest issue of
> American
> Fencing magazine on the attempt to lessen the various "interpretations" of
> the rules
> in fencing.  We will use this as our basis for future officiating.  One area
> remains
> unclear.  Could you expand on the explanation regarding the foilist's rear
> sholder /
> forward sholder "in relation to one's opponent"?   What is meant by this phrase?

Foil fencers are not allowed to bring their rear shoulders in front of
their forward shoulders.  It is important to realize that this is in
relation to the opponent.  

Example 1: If your opponent fleches past you and you do not move, your
rear shoulder will end up closer to (in front) of your forward shoulder.
This does not mean that you should get a card.

Example 2: If your opponent gets very close to you in the course of
infighting and you turn so that your front shoulder remains where it was
but your rear shoulder moves toward your opponent's end of the strip, you
may not have earned a warning.  That your rear shoulder was closer to
your opponent's end of the strip than your front shoulder does not
automatically mean that you get a card.  If your opponent was standing
almost next to you (no passing has occurred) it is possible that no
illegal movement has occurred.

I do hope this isn't too confusing.  

George

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
George Kolombatovich                 Director of Fencing, Columbia University

 
 
 

Rules question

Post by James Sanbor » Sat, 02 Mar 1996 04:00:00


Quote:
>  If your opponent was standing
>almost next to you (no passing has occurred) it is possible that no
>illegal movement has occurred.

If this is addressed in the new issue of American Fencing, which I have
not yet received, feel free to ignore this question, but, even if
passing has occurred, it is correct that you are allowed to turn, thus
bringing your rear shoulder closer to the opponents end of the strip,
without penalty, isn't it?

thanx
-james

 
 
 

Rules question

Post by BJHeideb » Mon, 04 Mar 1996 04:00:00

If someone has passed you, you are allowed to turn towards them (don't
turn in the opposite direction or you will be exposing your back to them)
and attempt to hit them.  You will not be penalized for "reversing
shoulders" if your opponent has already passed you.

 
 
 

Rules question

Post by George Edward Kolombatovic » Tue, 05 Mar 1996 04:00:00


Quote:

> >  If your opponent was standing
> >almost next to you (no passing has occurred) it is possible that no
> >illegal movement has occurred.
> If this is addressed in the new issue of American Fencing, which I have
> not yet received, feel free to ignore this question, but, even if
> passing has occurred, it is correct that you are allowed to turn, thus
> bringing your rear shoulder closer to the opponents end of the strip,
> without penalty, isn't it?

There is no penalty in foil or any other weapon for bringing your rear
shoulder closer to the opponent's end of the strip.  There is a penalty
in foil if you bring your rear shoulder in front of your front shoulder
in relation to your opponent, NOT to your opponent's end of the strip.  

Obviously, most times when you bring your rear shoulder in front of your
front shoulder in relation to your opponent you will also be bringing it
closer to your opponent's end of the strip.  But not always.

George

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
George Kolombatovich                 Director of Fencing, Columbia University