>I know this is probably the most asked question for outdoor, but I didn't
>see it posted...blah, blah...
>Am I correct? You can only take a ball overhanded (2 Man sand) if you are
>setting the ball, or if it is hard driven to you.
>Where can I find this rule?
Todd is not going to agree with this, but the answer is YES, you are correct,
especially if you are playing under the JSVBA/Outdoor Volleyball USA Rules. Go
to jsvba.com to see a copy of the rulebook.
This is the Official Interpretation of the JSVBA and Outdoor Volleyball USA.
If you are using the FIVB Rules the answer should still be Yes, you are
correct, because the rule states that double contact on the first ball is
allowed as long as there is no finger action, (that means setting motion).
However, this will depend upon how strictly the referee enforces the double
contact concept. If you have an indoor ref, it will probably be legal to play
it with your hands, a strict outdoor ref would probably call it a fault every
Under the USAV Rules
13.4 CHARACTERISTICS OF THE CONTACT
13.4.2 A player may have successive contacts with the
ball during a single attempt to make the teams first
contact provided the fingers are not used to direct
13.4.2 Commentary: It is legal to receive a served ball
using the fingers in a setting action provided that
there is not a double contact or a held ball.
The result of that rule should be about the same as the FIVB rule, an indoor
ref will allow it, an outdoor ref will most likely not. The commentary says
that it could be legal, the reality should be, in high level outdoor
competition it would be called virtually every time due to the higher standards
applied to that contact compared to even a set by the same player.
For Example, AVP players will not take the chance of a ref calling it a fault
and bump virtually all first balls.
Most of those guys can handset anything, anytime, anyplace, so no matter what
the rules and commentary say, just to be safe, bump the first ball.
It's not indoors, where anything goes!
The above are only my opinions and should not be construed as fact or
interpretation by the FIVB or USAV.