Volleyball Olympic Qualification

Volleyball Olympic Qualification

Post by BFISHI » Tue, 11 Jan 2000 04:00:00

FIVB Volleyball Online Info - http://www.fivb.org

Volleyball Olympic Qualification:

>> Yugoslavia, Brazil and USA (men) together with Germany and USA (women)

join the list of qualified teams for Sydney 2000. <<

Lausanne, January 10th 2000 Brazil, Yugoslavia and USA mens volleyball
teams have qualified for Sydney 2000 Games, together with Germany and USA
womens teams. This is the outcome of the continental Olympic
qualification events that finished yesterday, (Sunday  9 January).

In Europe, Yugoslavia, runners-up of the last World Championship in 1998,
clinched their Olympic entry yesterday in Katowice, Poland, by defeating
Bulgaria in the final straight sets match (25-22, 25-13, 25-16). For the
women, Germany won the tournament organised at home, in Bremen, preceding
Italy and Croatia, to qualify for the Olympics.

In NorCeCa zone, both mens and womens qualification events had the same
final ending, with a double victory and Olympic qualification for the
Teams USA preceding Teams Canada. In Winnipeg, Canada, the US mens team
won the final from their Northern neighbours in 3 sets (25-20, 30-28 and
25-21) while their womens counterpart beat Canada 3-1 (19-25, 25-20,
25-20, 25-22) at home, in Lakeland, Florida.

The result of the mens South American Qualification final, played
yesterday in Sao Paulo, Brazil, was very tight, and the host team had to
struggle during 5 sets  to eliminate Argentina, their eternal continental
rival (21-25, 32-30, 25-22, 33-35, 15-13).

Two more continental Olympic qualifications were played previously: Peru
qualified in the South American womens event while South Korea won the
mens Asian tournament.

The African qualification legs, are scheduled for the second half of this
month: in Cairo, Egypt for men (Jan. 25-30) and in Nairobi, Kenya (Jan.
15-20), for women. The berth for a womens Asian team will be assigned in
Tokyo (June 17-25).

The remaining Olympic berths will be attributed during FIVB World Olympic
qualification tournaments scheduled in Tokyo for women (combined with the
Asian leg in June) and in Europe for mens (July 21-23 in Portugal, 24-26
in Greece and 25-27 in France).

The 8 teams qualified to play the womens event are Japan, China, Korea,
Italy, Croatia, the Netherlands, Canada and Argentina. The top 3 will
qualify together with the best Asian team.

For the men, the 12 qualified teams are: Portugal, Greece and France (the
three organisers), Spain, Canada, Mexico, Argentina, Venezuela, China,
Japan, Chinese Taipei plus one African team to be known after the
continental event.

Teams already qualified for Sydney 2000:
Men: Australia (host nation), Russia, Cuba, Italy (Top-3 of the World Cup
99), South Korea, Brazil, Yugoslavia and USA.  Women: Australia (host
nation), Cuba, Russia, Brazil (Top-3 of the World Cup 99), Peru, Germany,
and USA
Tim Simmons, BFishInc