Post by Timothy Simmo » Sat, 15 Jun 1996 04:00:00


OCEAN CITY, MD. - The beach volleyball tandems of Sue
Cunningham/Karen Hoyt and Jane Linn/Suzanne Trommer earned the last
two berths in the 32-team championship main draw after posting the
best match marks here Friday (June 14) in the qualifying rounds for
the $100,000 Evian U. S. Open.

Sue Cunningham and Karen Hoyt, both from ***ia Beach, Va.,
posted a 2-1 match mark in the round-robin qualifying play, along
with two other teams.  Cunningham/Hoyt earned the 31st-seed in the
main draw, by virtue of a point ratio tiebreaker, and a
championship first-round meeting against Olympians Barbra Fontana
Harris and Linda Hanley.

Jane Linn, of New York, and Suzanne Trommer, of Ronkonkoma, N.Y.,
barely advanced through qualifying as the 32nd seed.  The duo
squeaked past Wendy Martin and Teri Van*** by the slimmest of
margins in the tiebreaker.  One fewer point scored or one
additional point yielded would have resulted in the other team

Competition begins at 9 a.m. (EDT) Saturday on Dorchester Beach
when Olympians Holly McPeak and Nancy Reno face Linn and Trommer in
the first match of the Evian Women's Pro Beach Volleyball Tour
event on center court.

Play continues until 5 p.m. Saturday in the first of four "major"
events on the 1996 Evian Tour schedule.  Twelve (12) teams advance
to the final rounds of 14 matches Sunday starting at 8 a.m.

Four teams advance to the Olympic Crossing semi-finals at 11:30
a.m. Sunday with the tournament finale is set for 3 p.m. and will
be taped by ABC Sports for replay June 23 from 3-4 p.m. (EDT).

The $100,000 prize money for the Evian U. S. Open will also mark
the richest purse in domestic women's beach volleyball history
exceeding the previous best of $75,000 for February's four-team
indoor event in New York.

Seeded first in the Evian U. S. Open, McPeak and Reno will be
seeking their third-straight "major" title after winning the Evian
National Championships last August at Huntington Beach, Calif., and
the Evian Best of the Beach II in Hawaii last September.

McPeak and Reno were named last January as the United States' No.
1 women's beach volleyball tandem for the 1996 Atlanta Olympic
Games after finishing atop the 1995-96 FIVB Beach Volleyball World
Championship-Series circuit.  The 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games' beach
volleyball competition is July 23-28 at Atlanta Beach in Clayton
County, Ga.

Fontana Harris and Hanley, who are seeded second this weekend,
secured the second spot on the United States Olympic Team by
winning the United States Olympic Beach Volleyball Trials in
Baltimore last Friday (June 7).

Seeded seventh this weekend, Gail Castro and Deb Richardson won
four of five matches at the Olympic Trials to secure the third spot
on the United States Olympic Team, including a 15-13 qualifying win
over Elaine Roque and Dennie Shupryt-Knoop last Sunday in

Here are the Friday's results from the qualifying rounds of the
$100,000 Evian U. S. Open from Dorchester Beach along with
Saturday's schedule and pairings.

Qualifying round-robin results - Wendy Martin, Antioch, Tenn./Teri
Van***, Nashville, Tenn. (31) def. Sue Cunningham, ***ia
Beach, Va./Karen Hoyt, ***ia Beach, Va. (34), 15-11; Jane Linn,
New York/Suzanne Trommer, Ronkonkoma, N.Y. (33) def. Katie
Lockwood, C***te, N. C./Michon Lubbers, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
(32), 15-8; Linn/Trommer def. Martin/Van***, 15-10;
Cunningham/Loeser-Hoyt def. Lockwood/Lubbers, 15-12; Martin/Van
*** def. Lockwood/Lubbers, 15-10; Cunningham/Loeser-Hoyt def.
Linn/Trommer, 15-7.  Qualifying round-robin records (best two match
marks advance) - Cunningham/Hoyt 2-1 (1.24 point ratio);
Linn/Trommer 2-1 (1.12); Martin/Van*** 2-1 (1.11);
Lockwood/Lubbers 0-3 (0.67).

Championship bracket, first-round pairings (9 a.m., Saturday) -
Holly McPeak, Manhattan Beach, Calif./Nancy Reno, Glen Ellyn, Ill.
(1) vs. Jane Linn, New York/Suzanne Trommer, Ronkonkoma, N.Y. (32);
Michal Clingman, Raleigh, N. C./Evelyn Conley, South Pasadena,
Calif. (16) vs. Stephanie Nelson, Monarch Beach, Calif./Liz Pagano,
Seattle, Wash. (17); Marla O'Hara, Agoura Hills, Calif./Ali Wood,
Redondo Beach, Calif. (9) vs. Jeannette Kollasch, Palatine,
Ill./Michelle Morse, Fort Rucker, Ala. (24); Janice Harrer,
Honolulu, Hi./Gayle Stammer, San Antonio, Tex. (8) vs. Alicia
Chung, Capitola, Calif./Shana Wilson, Los Angeles, Calif. (25);
Elaine Roque, Malibu, Calif./Dennie Shupryt-Knoop, Chicago (5) vs.
Julie James, Houston/Samantha Meador, Houston (28); Danalee
Bragado, Honolulu, Hi./Lynda Johnson, San Diego (12) vs. Marsha
Miller, Henrietta, N. Y./Darina Staneva, Redondo Beach, Calif.
(21); Jackie Campbell, Santa Barbara, Calif./Leanne Schuster, Mesa,
Ariz. (13) vs. Julia Celotto, Eureka, Calif./Veronica Sanchez,
Santa Monica, Calif. (20); Liz Masakayan, San Diego, Calif./Angela
Rock, Carlsbad, Calif. (4) vs. Shannon Misek, Littleton, Colo./Gina
Pillitiere, Huntington Beach, Calif. (29); Lisa Arce, Manhattan
Beach, Calif./Patty Dodd, El Segundo, Calif. (3) vs. Bonnie Levin,
Miami/Lynda Street, Jupiter, Fla. (30); Erin Deiters, Green Bay,
Wisc./Alissa Lund, El Segundo, Calif. (14) vs. Lael Perlstrom-
Fresenius, Laguna Beach, Calif./Kristin Schritter, San Diego (19);
Marie Andersson, Hawthorne, Calif./Pat Keller, Sarasota, Fla. (11)
vs. Mary Baily, Calabasas, Calif./Shaney Fink, Northridge, Calif.
(22); Karrie Poppinga, Mililani, Hi./Christine Schaefer, Florence,
Ky. (6) vs. Laurie Ruser, San Diego/Wendy Whiting, Corona Del Mar,
Calif. (27); Gail Castro, Carlsbad, Calif./Deb Richardson,
Minneapolis, Minn. (7) vs. Stacy Kammes, Winfield, Ill./Amy
Peistrup-Matthews, Gurnee, Ill. (26); Krista Blomquist, Branford,
Conn./Wendy Fletcher, Manhattan Beach, Calif. (10) vs. Jackie
Auzias de Turenne, Raleigh, N. C./Barbara Belding, San Diego (23);
Valinda Hilleary, Littleton, Colo./Monique Oliver, Santa Monica,
Calif. (15) vs. Nancy Mason, Bellevue, Ill./Beth Schuler, Raleigh,
N. C. (18); Barbra Fontana Harris, Laguna Beach, Calif./Linda
Hanley, Pacific Palisades, Calif. (2) vs. Sue Cunningham, ***ia
Beach, Va./Karen Hoyt, ***ia Beach, Va. (31).  Championship
bracket, second-round (11 a.m., Saturday) - championship bracket
first-round winners.  Contender's bracket, first-round (12 p.m.,
Saturday) - championship bracket first-round losers.