rule question - outdoor doubles

rule question - outdoor doubles

Post by Eric Kulisc » Sat, 12 Jul 1997 04:00:00


There seems to be some disagreement in my region about whether or not
outdoor doubles rules allow one to can catch the first service toss
rather than letting it hit the ground.  I believe it is allowed to be
done in the outdoor game.  Any ideas on where to get the definitive
answer?

 
 
 

rule question - outdoor doubles

Post by Mike Dunnin » Sat, 12 Jul 1997 04:00:00

Here is the rule for the AVP found at www.avptour.com

17.4 Contact of the Ball at Service

 The ball shall be cleanly hit after the toss for service.
 (Exception: if after tossing the ball for a jump serve the
 server decides not to complete his service, a reserve
 will be directed. The attempt must be legitimate and
 the referee will not allow this interruption in play more
 than one time during any service attempt).

Hope this helps.

 
 
 

rule question - outdoor doubles

Post by Dan Amunds » Sun, 13 Jul 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

> There seems to be some disagreement in my region about whether or not
> outdoor doubles rules allow one to can catch the first service toss
> rather than letting it hit the ground.  I believe it is allowed to be
> done in the outdoor game.  Any ideas on where to get the definitive
> answer?

If I am not mistaken that rule has just reciently been changed on the AVP tour
so that you can not catch your toss.  I could be wrong, and I dont know how
USAV handles the situation.

Dan

 
 
 

rule question - outdoor doubles

Post by Todd » Tue, 15 Jul 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

> There seems to be some disagreement in my region about whether or not
> outdoor doubles rules allow one to can catch the first service toss
> rather than letting it hit the ground.  I believe it is allowed to be
> done in the outdoor game.  Any ideas on where to get the definitive
> answer?

You can catch your toss in outdoor USAV rules.

USAV outdoor 16.6 Service Attempt
If the server releases the ball for service but does not attempt to
complete the service motion, the referee will cancel the service and
direct a reserve.  A player may only receive one such reserve during
any one term of service.

In contrast, the indoor rule specifically states that the ball must
drop to the ground "without touching the player."

Note that under outdoor rules, you can only do this once per TERM of
service, unlike the indoor rule which allows one tossing error per
service (point).

--

USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
           "So you're a Ref and an engineer?
                 Oh that explains it...."

 
 
 

rule question - outdoor doubles

Post by Jeffrey Gogo » Wed, 16 Jul 1997 04:00:00

FIVB rules, on the contrary call for only one service attempt.  If the
service is caught or dropped, it is a side-out.  

Jeffrey Gogol
National Beach Official
Volleyball Canada



Quote:

> > There seems to be some disagreement in my region about whether or not
> > outdoor doubles rules allow one to can catch the first service toss
> > rather than letting it hit the ground.  I believe it is allowed to be
> > done in the outdoor game.  Any ideas on where to get the definitive
> > answer?

> If I am not mistaken that rule has just reciently been changed on the AVP
tour
> so that you can not catch your toss.  I could be wrong, and I dont know
how
> USAV handles the situation.

> Dan