Butterfly DQ " Underwater Recovery" ???

Butterfly DQ " Underwater Recovery" ???

Post by DolphinK » Tue, 25 Nov 1997 04:00:00


I was DQ'd at a USMS Meet in the 100 IM for the techical reason
of an "underwater recovery" on the butterfly touch. No one I
spoke to has ever heard of this rule or term. I can't find the term
"underwater recovery" anywhere.

It was explained to me in my discussion with the offical that I
was short on reaching the wall. Since I couldn't reach the wall
at the end of my stroke, I'm required to keep my HANDS at/above
the surface of the water and dolphin kick to the wall. He said if
your hands fall below the surface of the water this constitutes
begining a new stroke which must be completed.

It seems to me if your short to the wall, arm momentum alone will
push your hands below the surface of the water. Yet when I read
the rule your permitted to touch above, at, or below the surface
of the water. I don't understand how you can touch below and at the same time
be required to complete the stroke if your hands go below the water. It doesn't
make sense.

What do Butterflyers do when your last stroke comes up short of
the wall? How do you keep your hands from going underwater. It was
the first time I ever swam the event and I want to get it right.
Thanks

 
 
 

Butterfly DQ " Underwater Recovery" ???

Post by Valerie L. Mage » Tue, 25 Nov 1997 04:00:00

Your hands can be under the water at the touch. Hopefully, you weren't disqualified
for that. An 'underwater recovery' (butterfly requires that the recovery be over
the water) means that you are moving your hands forward under the water. Typically,
an 'underwater recovery' infraction occurs when the swimmer begins a pull and then
stretches the arms forward again, or when a weak swimmer sculls (often between
proper strokes).

A proper finish often involves a couple of quick dolphin kicks to the wall with the
arms outstretched, following the last full stroke (pull, over the water recovery).
As the rules state, the hands may be at, below or above the water.

The official may have seen a (partial) pull, followed by the underwater recovery.
If so, it was a proper DQ, although not described too well to you!

Quote:

> I was DQ'd at a USMS Meet in the 100 IM for the techical reason
> of an "underwater recovery" on the butterfly touch. No one I
> spoke to has ever heard of this rule or term. I can't find the term
> "underwater recovery" anywhere.

> It was explained to me in my discussion with the offical that I
> was short on reaching the wall. Since I couldn't reach the wall
> at the end of my stroke, I'm required to keep my HANDS at/above
> the surface of the water and dolphin kick to the wall. He said if
> your hands fall below the surface of the water this constitutes
> begining a new stroke which must be completed.

> It seems to me if your short to the wall, arm momentum alone will
> push your hands below the surface of the water. Yet when I read
> the rule your permitted to touch above, at, or below the surface
> of the water. I don't understand how you can touch below and at the same time
> be required to complete the stroke if your hands go below the water. It doesn't
> make sense.

> What do Butterflyers do when your last stroke comes up short of
> the wall? How do you keep your hands from going underwater. It was
> the first time I ever swam the event and I want to get it right.
> Thanks


 
 
 

Butterfly DQ " Underwater Recovery" ???

Post by jim pischa » Tue, 25 Nov 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

> I was DQ'd at a USMS Meet in the 100 IM for the techical reason
> of an "underwater recovery" on the butterfly touch. No one I
> spoke to has ever heard of this rule or term. I can't find the term
> "underwater recovery" anywhere.

> It was explained to me in my discussion with the offical that I
> was short on reaching the wall. Since I couldn't reach the wall
> at the end of my stroke, I'm required to keep my HANDS at/above
> the surface of the water and dolphin kick to the wall. He said if
> your hands fall below the surface of the water this constitutes
> begining a new stroke which must be completed.

> It seems to me if your short to the wall, arm momentum alone will
> push your hands below the surface of the water. Yet when I read
> the rule your permitted to touch above, at, or below the surface
> of the water. I don't understand how you can touch below and at the same time
> be required to complete the stroke if your hands go below the water. It doesn't
> make sense.

> What do Butterflyers do when your last stroke comes up short of
> the wall? How do you keep your hands from going underwater. It was
> the first time I ever swam the event and I want to get it right.
> Thanks

One way to explain this is that if you begin a pull in the butterfly,
you must recover the arms *over* the water. The official did not explain
this quite correctly. Your hands can indeed be under water and drop in
the vertical plane at the end of the stroke. Now if you are short of the
wall you have two choices, 1. kick into the wall; or 2. take another
stroke. If you kick into the wall, the hands do not have to be at or
above the surface level of the water. As long as another stroke is not
begun , even some small skulling action, you should not be DQ'd. However
even the slightest movement in the stroke (horizontal) plane then
requires the swimmer to recover over hte water. You cannot skull or half
pull and the shoot your arms forward to touch the wall as in a
breatstroke pull.

Hope this explanation is clear and that it helps,
Jim

 
 
 

Butterfly DQ " Underwater Recovery" ???

Post by Rob Griff » Sat, 29 Nov 1997 04:00:00

It sounds to me like you got a ignorant official.  The "underwater recovery"
in butterfly could be described as taking a VERY small ***stroke pull in
order to get to the wall.  If you just complete your stroke leave your arms
straight out in front and kick you wll have no problems.  Hope that helps...


Quote:

>I was DQ'd at a USMS Meet in the 100 IM for the techical reason
>of an "underwater recovery" on the butterfly touch. No one I
>spoke to has ever heard of this rule or term. I can't find the term
>"underwater recovery" anywhere.

>It was explained to me in my discussion with the offical that I
>was short on reaching the wall. Since I couldn't reach the wall
>at the end of my stroke, I'm required to keep my HANDS at/above
>the surface of the water and dolphin kick to the wall. He said if
>your hands fall below the surface of the water this constitutes
>begining a new stroke which must be completed.

>It seems to me if your short to the wall, arm momentum alone will
>push your hands below the surface of the water. Yet when I read
>the rule your permitted to touch above, at, or below the surface
>of the water. I don't understand how you can touch below and at the same time
>be required to complete the stroke if your hands go below the water. It doesn't
>make sense.

>What do Butterflyers do when your last stroke comes up short of
>the wall? How do you keep your hands from going underwater. It was
>the first time I ever swam the event and I want to get it right.
>Thanks