Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by TRAVIS {IOE » Tue, 02 Apr 1996 04:00:00


Myself and four other pool instructors have gotten into a small argument over the rules in eight ball... You help would be appreciated.
        scenario:  Myself and another player are playing eight ball by BCA rules  He jumps the six ball off the table and the cue ball remains on the table...according to him and what he says the BCA rules are the six ball would spot and it would be ball in hand because it is a foul.
        According to another instructor...The six ball is spotted and the cue ball is played from where it has been left.  (His interpretation of the rules)

                                HELP US!!!!
send any information or opinions to:

 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Ron Shepa » Thu, 04 Apr 1996 04:00:00

[...]

Quote:
>It's very clear in the BCA rule book for formal tournament eight ball that
>jumping an object ball off of the table is not a foul,
>as long as the cueball remains on the table.  Any object ball that is
>jumped from the table should be spotted.

Perhaps our posts crossed, but to avoid confusion here is the BCA rule:

4.18 OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off
the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which
is a loss of game.  Any jumped object balls are spotted in numerical order
according to General Rules for spotting balls.

Since it is a foul, the foul penalty applies which is:

4.15 FOUL PENALTY.  Opposing player gets cue ball in hand. [...]

$.02 -Ron Shepard

 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Kevin Ke » Thu, 04 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

>Myself and four other pool instructors have gotten into a small argument over the rules in eight ball... You help would be appreciated.
>    scenario:  Myself and another player are playing eight ball by BCA rules  He jumps the six ball off the table and the cue ball remains on the table...according to him and what he says the BCA rules are the six ball would spot and it would be ball in hand because it is a foul.
>    According to another instructor...The six ball is spotted and the cue ball is played from where it has been left.  (His interpretation of the rules)

>                            HELP US!!!!
>send any information or opinions to:


It's very clear in the BCA rule book for formal tournament eight ball that jumping an object ball off of the table is not a foul,
as long as the cueball remains on the table.  Any object ball that is jumped from the table should be spotted.

 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Pat » Fri, 05 Apr 1996 04:00:00

I'm not sure how the BCA rules apply to this but I've always been in
favor of giving the "in coming player" the option of either spotting the
ball or dropping it in the pocket and playing the cue ball where it is.  
Often with the "just spot it " rule the player not commiting the foul is
penalized more than the player commiting the foul.  Most of the
tournaments and leagues I play in have opted for this course of action.  
It tends to penalize to right party while not imposing the severe penalty
of ball in hand any where.

Pat Hall

 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Kevin Ke » Tue, 09 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:


>[...]
>>It's very clear in the BCA rule book for formal tournament eight ball that
>>jumping an object ball off of the table is not a foul,
>>as long as the cueball remains on the table.  Any object ball that is
>>jumped from the table should be spotted.

>Perhaps our posts crossed, but to avoid confusion here is the BCA rule:

>4.18 OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off
>the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which
>is a loss of game.  Any jumped object balls are spotted in numerical order
>according to General Rules for spotting balls.

>Since it is a foul, the foul penalty applies which is:

>4.15 FOUL PENALTY.  Opposing player gets cue ball in hand. [...]

>$.02 -Ron Shepard

Then again, I might be wrong.......the last time I played BCA eight ball was in the intercollegiate BCA tournaments, five
years ago.  I was just trying to recall the rules from memory and I recalled that when I was first introduced to the notion
that a jumped object ball is a foul in Texas Express Nine Ball, it seemed counter to every set of rules for nine ball or eight
ball I had ever learned.  So, for some reason I was sure that a jumped object ball is not a foul.  However, there are two
different sets of eight ball rules within the BCA book, of that I am sure.  The rules might be different between them.
 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Bob Jewe » Wed, 10 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

>  However,
> there are two different sets of eight ball rules within the BCA book,
> of that I am sure.  The rules might be different between them.

I can only find the first set, which is on pages 51-54.  Which page does
the second set start on?

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Kevin Ke » Fri, 12 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:


>>  However,
>> there are two different sets of eight ball rules within the BCA book,
>> of that I am sure.  The rules might be different between them.

>I can only find the first set, which is on pages 51-54.  Which page does
>the second set start on?

>Bob Jewett

We are talking about that thin, green book, right?  I haven't actually seen one for a few years, so if there
have been any significant changes in the last few years, disregard anything I have ever said about BCA
rules.  If it's any indication of how old the last BCA book I read might have been, your name appeared in
the list of ACU-I champions the last time I looked.
 
 
 

Jumped object ball in 8-ball

Post by Ron Shepa » Sun, 14 Apr 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

> We are talking about that thin, green book, right?[...]

It changes colors every year.  The last few have been purple, orange, and
green.  There should be a new one out now for '96, right?  What color is
the new one?

$.02 -Ron Shepard