snooker rule question - again

snooker rule question - again

Post by Rick » Tue, 12 Feb 2002 16:06:03


I posted this question a long time ago but never did check back.
I know local rules vary, but I am asking about the standard tournament
rules such as used in the Embassy, etc.
The rules I've seen aren't really clear on this.
Q. -  When incoming player has cue ball in-hand after a scratch within
the "D", may he shoot at an object ball that is also within the "D" ?
Rick
 
 
 

snooker rule question - again

Post by weeli » Tue, 12 Feb 2002 17:06:34

Yep, I think you can shoot at anything, any direction, anywhere.

- Weelie


Quote:
> I posted this question a long time ago but never did check back.
> I know local rules vary, but I am asking about the standard tournament
> rules such as used in the Embassy, etc.
> The rules I've seen aren't really clear on this.
> Q. -  When incoming player has cue ball in-hand after a scratch within
> the "D", may he shoot at an object ball that is also within the "D" ?
> Rick


 
 
 

snooker rule question - again

Post by tony mathew » Tue, 12 Feb 2002 20:18:07

Quote:

> Q. -  When incoming player has cue ball in-hand after a scratch within
> the "D", may he shoot at an object ball that is also within the "D" ?
> Rick

Yes you can.

Tony

 
 
 

snooker rule question - again

Post by Bob Jewet » Wed, 13 Feb 2002 07:41:13

Quote:

> Q. -  When incoming player has cue ball in-hand after a scratch within
> the "D", may he shoot at an object ball that is also within the "D" ?

It is allowed as others have mentioned.

The rules are on-line at:

   http://worldsnooker.com/snooker_and_billiards_rules/snookercont.asp

If the rules do not say that something is a foul, you should assume that
it is not a foul.  The rules do say that you can shoot in any direction
from the D, which is more information than is needed, but I suppose it
was in contrast to the standard rules of billiards which require you to
play out of baulk:

    http://worldsnooker.com/snooker_and_billiards_rules/billiards3.asp#3_6

--

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

snooker rule question - again

Post by Alan Morris [SnookerUSA.com » Wed, 13 Feb 2002 10:23:33


Quote:
> I posted this question a long time ago but never did check back.
> I know local rules vary, but I am asking about the standard
tournament
> rules such as used in the Embassy, etc.
> The rules I've seen aren't really clear on this.
> Q. -  When incoming player has cue ball in-hand after a scratch
within
> the "D", may he shoot at an object ball that is also within the "D"
?
> Rick

Yes, when you have the cue-ball in hand at snooker after it has been
potted you can shoot at any ball on wherever it may be on the table.

It's in the game of English billiards when you have your cue-ball in
hand, that if an object-ball is in the baulk area of the table, your
cue-ball has to cross the baulk line before it can make legal contact
with the object-ball in baulk.

Alan Morris.
http://www.snookerusa.com/

 
 
 

snooker rule question - again

Post by Eurig Jone » Wed, 13 Feb 2002 21:59:27


Quote:

> > Q. -  When incoming player has cue ball in-hand after a scratch within
> > the "D", may he shoot at an object ball that is also within the "D" ?

> It is allowed as others have mentioned.

> The rules are on-line at:

>    http://worldsnooker.com/snooker_and_billiards_rules/snookercont.asp

> If the rules do not say that something is a foul, you should assume that
> it is not a foul.  The rules do say that you can shoot in any direction
> from the D, which is more information than is needed, but I suppose it
> was in contrast to the standard rules of billiards which require you to
> play out of baulk:

>     http://worldsnooker.com/snooker_and_billiards_rules/billiards3.asp#3_6

the official billiard and snooker rules are absolute HELL to read.. i don't
understand why they couldn't use slightly more sensible explanations