A snooker rules question

A snooker rules question

Post by Jonas ?dm » Wed, 21 Sep 1994 17:20:22


I have a question about a very rare situation in snooker. To me, it's
only happened once. The situation: the only red(s) that are
left on the table is surrounded by colored balls so that it is
absolutely impossible to hit the red first. Not only from where the
que-ball is placed, but wherever the que-ball is. What do the rules
say about this?
        In a match between John Parrot and Steve Davis a few years
ago, this almost happened, but the referee said that John Parrot could
hit the red first. It was a very close call and John was very upset
about it. I remember that the Eurosport commentator, Mark Wildman,
talked about this "special rule", but, unfortunately, I don't remember
what he said.

        Jonas Oedman, Stockholm, Sweden

 
 
 

A snooker rules question

Post by Jari Kok » Wed, 21 Sep 1994 21:15:05

Quote:
>I have a question about a very rare situation in snooker. To me, it's
>only happened once. The situation: the only red(s) that are
>left on the table is surrounded by colored balls so that it is
>absolutely impossible to hit the red first. Not only from where the
>que-ball is placed, but wherever the que-ball is. What do the rules
>say about this?

The impossible to hit -rule addresses this exactly:

(It's a note in Section 3, rule 3l (concerning a MISS).)

        Ball on impossible to hit. In this situation it
        has to be considered that the striker is
        attempting to hit a ball on.

This rule means that if the red (or all reds) are surrounded by colours
or the cue ball is surrounded by colours and you are on a red, any shot
you choose to make is considered a valid attempt to hit a ball on. A
foul will result of course but no MISS will be called. The importance of
this is that after a MISS, that is: the striker has not attempted to hit
a ball on to the best of his ability in the opinion of the referee, the
balls will be replaced and the shot replayed, if the non-offender so
wishes.

I hope that is clear to you, because it is a kind of fuzzy rule.

Quote:
>    In a match between John Parrot and Steve Davis a few years
>ago, this almost happened, but the referee said that John Parrot could
>hit the red first. It was a very close call and John was very upset
>about it. I remember that the Eurosport commentator, Mark Wildman,
>talked about this "special rule", but, unfortunately, I don't remember
>what he said.

Mark Wildman probably said what I just said, because he usually knows
what he's talking about...  :-)

Jari

 
 
 

A snooker rules question

Post by Bob Jewe » Thu, 22 Sep 1994 04:40:39

Quote:
>    Ball on impossible to hit. In this situation it
>    has to be considered that the striker is
>    attempting to hit a ball on.
> This rule means that if the red (or all reds) are surrounded by colours
> or the cue ball is surrounded by colours and you are on a red, any shot
> you choose to make is considered a valid attempt to hit a ball on.

I may understand the rule, but what is the best strategy?  Suppose for
example that the last red is on a cushion with the black, pink and blue
touching it.  Or, a more likely leave: the cue ball comes to rest in the jaws
of a corner pocket, and the black, which was just missed, rolls up and stops
almost touching it.  What's the best move?

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

A snooker rules question

Post by Jari Kok » Thu, 22 Sep 1994 17:34:41

Quote:
>I may understand the rule, but what is the best strategy?  Suppose for
>example that the last red is on a cushion with the black, pink and blue
>touching it.  Or, a more likely leave: the cue ball comes to rest in the jaws
>of a corner pocket, and the black, which was just missed, rolls up and stops
>almost touching it.  What's the best move?

Let's say it's the latter: the last red in the jaws. If you're in front
35 points or more, shoot the red in hitting the black first. Then you're
in front 28 points with 27 on the table. Unless you left a free ball you
are quite safe and your opponent needs a snooker.

If the scores are more level, then the first player in turn should clear
the situation at once because after each foul the other guy may make him
strike again. So, he must shoot and clear the situation: but how?

I would make the red "enter the pocket" (it isn't a pot because there is
a foul) and try to leave the yellow safe and especially not snookered
because that would mean a free ball for the other guy.

Note that the red is never re-spotted in this case. It would returned if
it dropped in by itself or by "an agency other than the striker".

If the last red would be in an unpocketable position then again the
first player to strike will want to clear the situation at once trying
to leave the red safe at the same time.

Jari