Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Fieldham » Sat, 24 Jun 1995 04:00:00


While playing in a 9-Ball tournament recently, my opponent (a weak one)
missed the object ball and the cue ball went around the table toward a
cluster that I knew it was going to break out.  The player knowing he had
fouled, snatched the cue ball before it stopped rolling and extended it
toward me in a friendly gesture.  He was quite surprised when I snapped
at him for grabbing it before it stopped rolling and he thought that since
he had already fouled that there was no problem in taking the cue ball.

I'd never been in that situation before and I knew that if the cluster had
been broken, I'd have had a much better chance for a run out even though
I still had ball in hand.  Is there some kind of extra penalty that could
be
assesed or did the guy just get a lucky break out of his own ignorance?
Mike Fieldhammer

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by AnkerSte » Sun, 25 Jun 1995 04:00:00

Quote:
> Is there some kind of extra penalty that could be assesed or did the guy

just >get a lucky break out of his own ignorance?

In NYC, the penalty is broken fingers, so he will remember not to pick up
a moving ball.  If you actually believe that he picked up the ball out of
"ignorance", then perhaps you deserve not to have the cluster broken up.

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Teo Kea » Wed, 28 Jun 1995 04:00:00

|> While playing in a 9-Ball tournament recently, my opponent (a weak one)
|> missed the object ball and the cue ball went around the table toward a
|> cluster that I knew it was going to break out.  The player knowing he had
|> fouled, snatched the cue ball before it stopped rolling and extended it
|> toward me in a friendly gesture.  
<snip>
|> Is there some kind of extra penalty that could
|> be assesed or did the guy just get a lucky break out of his own ignorance?
|> Mike Fieldhammer

That would be loss of game where I play.  You say it was a tournament -
in our tournaments, I would call a ref over, have them explain the rule
to my opponent, and rack the balls for the next game.

-Teo

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by t.. » Thu, 29 Jun 1995 04:00:00

I too have had people pick up the cue before it came to rest.
How rude! Since it would be considered interference with the
cue, touching the cue while in motion, etc., my guess is that
would be their second of three fouls. The first would be missing
the object ball. The second would be the interference. Your
best next move would be a VERY good safety. A third foul would
not only give you the game, it might teach them a good lesson.

What y'all think?

Thom Randolph

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Bob Jewe » Thu, 29 Jun 1995 04:00:00

: I too have had people pick up the cue before it came to rest.
: How rude! Since it would be considered interference with the
: cue, touching the cue while in motion, etc., my guess is that
: would be their second of three fouls. The first would be missing
: the object ball. The second would be the interference. ...

The way the present rules are written, multiple fouls on a single shot
are penalized as a single foul.  If there were to be a special
penalty for this sort of thing, it should be as a serious foul, which
would be loss of game at nine ball.  How about the following rule:

    It is a serious foul to intentionally touch any ball between the
    start and the end of a shot (excluding the normal tip-to-ball
    contact that begins each shot).  No warning is required for this
    kind of serious foul.

On a related note: a player has just pocketed the winning ball, and the
cue ball is rolling slowly towards the middle of the foot rail.  The
player picks up the cue ball before it stops, and takes it to the
kitchen for the next break.  As the referee, what do you say?

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Marco Rue » Thu, 29 Jun 1995 04:00:00

Quote:


>Subject: Rules Question-- a tricky one.
>Date: 23 Jun 1995 18:11:24 -0400
>While playing in a 9-Ball tournament recently, my opponent (a weak one)
>missed the object ball and the cue ball went around the table toward a
>cluster that I knew it was going to break out.  The player knowing he had
>fouled, snatched the cue ball before it stopped rolling and extended it
>toward me in a friendly gesture.  He was quite surprised when I snapped
>at him for grabbing it before it stopped rolling and he thought that since
>he had already fouled that there was no problem in taking the cue ball.
>I'd never been in that situation before and I knew that if the cluster had
>been broken, I'd have had a much better chance for a run out even though
>I still had ball in hand.  Is there some kind of extra penalty that could
>be
>assesed or did the guy just get a lucky break out of his own ignorance?
>Mike Fieldhammer

Here's my 2 cents worth.  I would considere it as 2 consecutive fouls.  I
would play safe by hoping that he foules another time.

Since in 9-ball 3 consecutive fouls is game over

Any input greatly apreciated.

Marco Ruest!!!

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by AnkerSte » Fri, 30 Jun 1995 04:00:00

Quote:
>On a related note: a player has just pocketed the winning ball, and the
>cue ball is rolling slowly towards the middle of the foot rail.  The
>player picks up the cue ball before it stops, and takes it to the
>kitchen for the next break.  As the referee, what do you say?

A judgement call.  Assuming that there was no realistic chance of the cue
ball ending up in a pocket, there is no penalty.  Just a reasonable effort
to speed the game.

In "strict" matches, we play that picking up the cue ball and handing it
to the upcoming shooter is conceding the match.  After a foul, the new
shooter must pick up the ball himself.

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Georg Nikod » Fri, 30 Jun 1995 04:00:00

 TK> That would be loss of game where I play.  You say it was a
 TK> tournament - in our tournaments, I would call a ref over, have
 TK> them explain the rule to my opponent, and rack the balls for the
 TK> next game.

As abhorent as this bevahiour might be as far as I can tell, it only
constitutes a foul which would result in ball in hand for the incoming
player.
--
--

+
| Otaku'ness is next to godliness.
+

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Gary.Seuber » Fri, 30 Jun 1995 04:00:00

Quote:

> ...
>On a related note: a player has just pocketed the winning ball, and the
>cue ball is rolling slowly towards the middle of the foot rail.  The
>player picks up the cue ball before it stops, and takes it to the
>kitchen for the next break.  As the referee, what do you say?

>Bob Jewett

I swear I've seen this on televised 9-ball tournaments.  Not that they actually
pick up the cue ball but they will use their stick to "nudge" it towards the
head of the table before it has actually come to rest.  I always thought that
was a bit tacky but never saw a ref call it.

Gary Seubert
UNIX Class of '73 B.C. ('B'efore 'C'pio)

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Bob Jewe » Fri, 30 Jun 1995 04:00:00

: >player picks up the cue ball before it stops, and takes it to the
: >kitchen for the next break.  As the referee, what do you say?

: A judgement call.  Assuming that there was no realistic chance of the cue
: ball ending up in a pocket, there is no penalty.  Just a reasonable effort
: to speed the game.

If both players agree that the rules will be suspended, then I suppose
there would be no penalty.  However, if either player decides to call
the foul, the referee would have to agree that in fact it is a foul.
Almost always there is no time saved by touching the cue ball before it
stops rolling, especially if the breaker has to fetch and chalk a break
stick.  When in doubt, play by the rules; you never know when your opponent
might enforce them.

: In "strict" matches, we play that picking up the cue ball and handing it
: to the upcoming shooter is conceding the match.  After a foul, the new
: shooter must pick up the ball himself.

Sometimes it's better for the fouling player to acknowledge the foul by
handing the cue ball to the incoming player.  I've seen surly foulers
turn from the table without admitting that the hit was bad, leaving
their opponent wondering whether to just pick up the cue ball or to get
permission first.

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

Rules Question-- a tricky one.

Post by Marco Rue » Sat, 01 Jul 1995 04:00:00

Quote:
>On a related note: a player has just pocketed the winning ball, and the
>cue ball is rolling slowly towards the middle of the foot rail.  The
>player picks up the cue ball before it stops, and takes it to the
>kitchen for the next break.  As the referee, what do you say?

                              ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

As a referee you are suppose to call a foul. the 9-ball spots up the the
other player as ball in hand.

Marco