>Last night I watched this guy teach a friend of mine how to play
>one pocket. According to the "teacher," if you scratch while sinking
>your opponent's ball in his pocket, you spot that ball (as well as
>one of your own). Now, I'm not a big fan of the game and haven't
>played it in many years, but I was taught by a serious player and
>my recollection was that the opponent's ball stays down. A quick
>check of the BCA rulebook confirmed it. After the game, I mentioned
>it to the teacher and was told (rather indignantly), that "all the
>big-money players play [my] way." I found this pretty hard to believe,
>but since I don't follow the game, couldn't really dispute it.
"scratch" is slightly different than a general foul. An intentional
scratch is the only way to win if the last ball is too deep in your
opponents pocket to get out. In this case, the ball you made and one of
your previous balls comes up. You are penalized because you lose a ball.
Look on page 65 of the BCA '94 book.
"4. Balls pocketed by shooter in his opponent's target pocket are
scored for the opponent, even if the stroke was a foul, but would not
count if the cue ball should scratch or jump the table."
It is that last part of the rule that is important in this case.
However, many one-pocket players play that any foul causes the ball to
come up, not just a scratch. There is a story in "Winning One-Pocket"
based on such a rule. The opponents game ball was jawed in the pocket.
The shooter intentionally double-hit the cue ball when he knew his
opponent was watching. As soon as the foul occured, the other player
called it. The shooter didn't want to scratch to give the opponent
ball-in-kitchen. This way, by "tricking" him into calling the double-hit
foul, he didn't get the ball and he had to play the next shot from
position instead of from the kitchen. With BCA rules, the opponent would
have gotten the ball whether he called the double-hit foul or not.
$.02 -Ron Shepard