Missing the break in 9-ball

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by M Cass » Thu, 09 May 1996 04:00:00


I remember this was talked about way back when I had time to read
everything posted to this newsgroup.

When the breaker completely misses the pack when breaking in 9-ball, does
the incoming shooter have option of ball-in-hand anywhere on the table?

If so, what would you do; break the balls up yourself or try for the
three-foul?

Mike.

 
 
 

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by Ron Shepa » Thu, 09 May 1996 04:00:00


[...]

Quote:
>When the breaker completely misses the pack when breaking in 9-ball, does
>the incoming shooter have option of ball-in-hand anywhere on the table?

>If so, what would you do; break the balls up yourself or try for the
>three-foul?

The opponent gets BIH in BCA and also (I think) PBTA and TEXAS EXPRESS
rules.  However, local house rules sometimes call for a rebreak.

With BIH, a strong move is to feather the 1-ball on one edge, let the cue
ball double the corner, and come to rest frozen to the back side of the
rack.  Another strong move is to hit the 1-ball in the front of the rack
from the side (about a 1/2 ball hit), knocking the corner ball out of the
rack, and getting the cue ball to come off the side rail and replace it.
Both of these shots need practice, but I think the first option is a
higher percentage, particularly when the rack is disturbed.  In both
cases, the 1-ball is partially obscured for the 1-cushion kick and it is
difficult to make a good bridge over the cluster.

$.02 -Ron Shepard

 
 
 

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by Thomas M. Suare » Sat, 11 May 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

>I remember this was talked about way back when I had time to read
>everything posted to this newsgroup.

>When the breaker completely misses the pack when breaking in 9-ball, does
>the incoming shooter have option of ball-in-hand anywhere on the table?

>If so, what would you do; break the balls up yourself or try for the
>three-foul?

Mike,
The game does not start until the person breaking, hits the one ball and
then, any ball makes contact with a rail.

Tom

 
 
 

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by Ron Shepa » Sat, 11 May 1996 04:00:00


[...]

Quote:
> The game does not start until the person breaking, hits the one ball and
> then, any ball makes contact with a rail. [...]

This may be a local rule, but it is not the BCA rule.  The BCA rules are
online at http://www.netins.net/showcase/bcahome/.  The relevant 9-ball
rules are:

    "13. END OF GAME. A game starts as soon as the cue ball crosses over the
    head string on the opening break. The 1-ball must be legally contacted on
    the break shot. The game ends at the end of a legal shot which pockets the
    9-ball; or when a player forfeits the game as the result of a foul.

    3. LEGAL BREAK SHOT. The rules governing the break shot are the same as for
    other shots except:

       a. The breaker must strike the 1-ball first and either pocket a
ball or      
          drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.

       b. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the
          requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the
          incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

       c. If on the break shot, the breaker causes an object ball to jump off
          the table, it is a foul and the incoming player has cue ball in hand
          anywhere on the table. The object ball is not respotted
(exception: if
          the object ball is the 9-ball, it is respotted)."

In other words, the 9-ball break has _additional_ requirements, not fewer
requirements, compared to other shots.

In a previous post I gave two possible moves for the opponent who has BIH
after a foul on the break.  I should also have mentioned that players
should not only practice those snookers, but they should also practice
trying to get out of them.  Does anyone else have any suggestions in this
situation?  Anyone know of a good "break shot" for an undisturbed, or
slightly disturbed, rack from some downtable position?

$.02 -Ron Shepard

 
 
 

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by Craig Hoga » Sat, 18 May 1996 04:00:00

     If someone misses the rack and you get ball-in-hand, is there
still a push-out rule?  Or does that get used up on the first failed
break attempt?

Craig


: [...]
: > The game does not start until the person breaking, hits the one ball and
: > then, any ball makes contact with a rail. [...]

: This may be a local rule, but it is not the BCA rule.  The BCA rules are
: online at http://www.netins.net/showcase/bcahome/.  The relevant 9-ball
: rules are:

:     "13. END OF GAME. A game starts as soon as the cue ball crosses over the
:     head string on the opening break. The 1-ball must be legally contacted on
:     the break shot. The game ends at the end of a legal shot which pockets the
:     9-ball; or when a player forfeits the game as the result of a foul.

:     3. LEGAL BREAK SHOT. The rules governing the break shot are the same as for
:     other shots except:

:        a. The breaker must strike the 1-ball first and either pocket a
: ball or      
:           drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.

:        b. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the
:           requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the
:           incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

:        c. If on the break shot, the breaker causes an object ball to jump off
:           the table, it is a foul and the incoming player has cue ball in hand
:           anywhere on the table. The object ball is not respotted
: (exception: if
:           the object ball is the 9-ball, it is respotted)."

: In other words, the 9-ball break has _additional_ requirements, not fewer
: requirements, compared to other shots.

: In a previous post I gave two possible moves for the opponent who has BIH
: after a foul on the break.  I should also have mentioned that players
: should not only practice those snookers, but they should also practice
: trying to get out of them.  Does anyone else have any suggestions in this
: situation?  Anyone know of a good "break shot" for an undisturbed, or
: slightly disturbed, rack from some downtable position?

: $.02 -Ron Shepard

--
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
* Craig Hogan          * Cure TAB archive, live Cure recordings:      *

* Software Engineer    *    "All the faces, all the voices blur..."   *
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

 
 
 

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by Ron Shepa » Sat, 18 May 1996 04:00:00


Quote:

>     If someone misses the rack and you get ball-in-hand, is there
>still a push-out rule?

No.  According to BCA rule 5.5, a pushout is allowed only after a legal
break.  If a player pushes when he is not allowed, it is a foul and the
opponent gets ball in hand.

$.02 -Ron Shepard

 
 
 

Missing the break in 9-ball

Post by Bob Jewe » Sat, 18 May 1996 04:00:00

:      If someone misses the rack and you get ball-in-hand, is there
: still a push-out rule?  Or does that get used up on the first failed
: break attempt?

Push out only occurs after a legal break.  On any foul break at nine ball,
the incoming player has ball in hand for a normal shot.

Bob Jewett