Final Black in Snooker: updated

Final Black in Snooker: updated

Post by P.S.MCWILLIA » Tue, 03 Sep 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

> *** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME
> UNLESS THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED
> AND THE  PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ***

>> ...You can get away with the foul if you are ahead by more than the
>> seven points which get awarded to your opponent.  A frame of snooker
>> is just too long if it always comes down to one ball like in eight,
>> or nine, ball.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your point is fair enough for clarification, Jeff, in case any players
were unaware of the rule, though in the case I quoted the frame is already
effectively over befoe the black is played.

To leave no doubt (what an assumption to make in this newsgroup!!) about
the "final black" situation, it should be noted that if, after the final
pink is potted, there is more than 7 points between the players, the frame
is over in terms of the winner. However, the black can still count for
purposes of finishing a break or for the frame score if, as is the case
with some competitions, frame scores are used.

If it is fouled in this situation, 7 points can be awarded to the other
player but the frame is over and no more shots are allowed.

Hope this is clear (though no doubt we'll hear more of this).

Patrick