Questions re: 8ball rules

Questions re: 8ball rules

Post by Eri » Tue, 25 Feb 1997 04:00:00


If you were to sink the 8 ball on the break with one or more other
balls, do you win?

Also,  if you make the shot you called & happened to sink another of
your balls, does this count & do you continue to shoot?

Just bought a new table & haven't played in years. Just my luck this
came up right off!

Tks

Eric

 
 
 

Questions re: 8ball rules

Post by Ester » Thu, 27 Feb 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

>If you were to sink the 8 ball on the break with one or more other
>balls, do you win?

          Yes, sinking the eight on the break is a win.

Quote:
>Also,  if you make the shot you called & happened to sink another of
>your balls, does this count & do you continue to shoot?

          Any balls pocketed stay down, as long as the origional called
ball is made           in the called pocket. Just think of it as a bonus.

Quote:
>Just bought a new table & haven't played in years. Just my luck this
>came up right off!
>Tks
>Eric

          Have fun with the new table Eric. i'm sure it will give you alot
of enjoyment.
Eric M. Sternberg
BA Percussion U. of Alabama
Percussion Instructor Chattanooga, TN.

 
 
 

Questions re: 8ball rules

Post by Ron Shepa » Thu, 27 Feb 1997 04:00:00


Quote:

>>If you were to sink the 8 ball on the break with one or more other
>>balls, do you win?

>          Yes, sinking the eight on the break is a win. [...]

Just for a different opinion, you might want to read the FAQ about this.

Some 8-ball rules can be found online at:

  http://www.bca-pool.com/
  http://www.poolplayer.com/apa_home.htm
  http://budweiser.com/hisapa.html

Besides the gazillions of local rule variations, there are basically two
kinds of 8-ball: call shot and slop shot.  The above BCA rules are the
best for call shot, and the APA rules are the best for slop shot.  With
BCA rules, the 8-ball is spotted if made on the break; with APA rules, it
is a win, unless the cue ball scratches, and then it is a loss.

$.02 -Ron Shepard