Snooker rules question

Snooker rules question

Post by Jonas ?dm » Wed, 25 Jan 1995 23:47:59


This happened to me last night: my opponent had potted a red, he then
potted the black and accidentally touched a red, but by that time the
black was in the pocket and the que-ball had stopped. He hadn't
started to prepare for the next red.
  Of course he had made a foul, but was it a 7 point foul or a 4 point
foul (in that case he would of course get 7 points for the
black). Neither one of us was sure, but we finally agreed that since
the que-ball had stopped, he had made a foul on his next
stroke. Therefore, it was a 4 points foul and the black he'd potted
counted. Was that a correct ruling?

Jonas

 
 
 

Snooker rules question

Post by Jari Kok » Thu, 26 Jan 1995 00:09:17

Jonas ?dman:

Quote:
>This happened to me last night: my opponent had potted a red, he then
>potted the black and accidentally touched a red, but by that time the
>black was in the pocket and the que-ball had stopped. He hadn't
>started to prepare for the next red.

The rule:
A stroke is made when the striker strikes the cue-ball with the tip of his
cue. A stroke is complete when all balls have come to rest and the referee
decides that the striker has left the table.

This means that from your description it is impossible to say if
the stroke was complete or not. How did he touch the red? Was he
up from the shot already?

Jari

 
 
 

Snooker rules question

Post by Jonas ?dm » Thu, 26 Jan 1995 20:41:56

: The rule:
: A stroke is made when the striker strikes the cue-ball with the tip of his
: cue. A stroke is complete when all balls have come to rest and the referee
: decides that the striker has left the table.

: This means that from your description it is impossible to say if
: the stroke was complete or not. How did he touch the red? Was he
: up from the shot already?

: Jari

No, he wasn't up from the shot, so I guess we made a false ruling.

Jonas