Snooker Rules: Foul and a Miss

Snooker Rules: Foul and a Miss

Post by Flemming Koch Jens » Wed, 17 Apr 1996 04:00:00


In "Rules of the games of Snooker and English Billiards" Section 3,
14b, it says:

"If the striker, in making a stroke, fails to first hit a ball on when
there is a clear path in a straight line from the cue-ball to any part
af any ball that is or could be on, the referee shall call FOUL AND A
MISS unless either player needed snookers before, or as a result of,
the stroke played and the referee is satisfied that the miss was not
intentional"

I'm not english, so I have a little language-problem with these lines.
Does the last part about "... and the referee is satisfied that the
miss was not intentional" apply only to the "needing snooker"-thing or
does it meen that a MISS can only be called if it was an intentional
miss, and NEVER if it was due to misscuing or been not good enough to
make the contact.

The people I use to play with at the local club in Denmark (Not much
snooker is played in this country!) has the opinion, that a miss can
only be called if the striker intended it to be a miss, meening: he
did it on purpose!

 
 
 

Snooker Rules: Foul and a Miss

Post by Flemming Koch Jens » Sat, 20 Apr 1996 04:00:00

In "Rules of the games of Snooker and English Billiards" Section 3,
14b, it says:

"If the striker, in making a stroke, fails to first hit a ball on when
there is a clear path in a straight line from the cue-ball to any part
af any ball that is or could be on, the referee shall call FOUL AND A
MISS unless either player needed snookers before, or as a result of,
the stroke played and the referee is satisfied that the miss was not
intentional"

I'm not english, so I have a little language-problem with these lines.
Does the last part about "... and the referee is satisfied that the
miss was not intentional" apply only to the "needing snooker"-thing or
does it meen that a MISS can only be called if it was an intentional
miss, and NEVER if it was due to misscuing or been not good enough to
make the contact.

The people I use to play with at the local club in Denmark (Not much
snooker is played in this country!) has the opinion, that a miss can
only be called if the striker intended it to be a miss, meening: he
did it on purpose!

 
 
 

Snooker Rules: Foul and a Miss

Post by Harry Baldwi » Mon, 22 Apr 1996 04:00:00



Quote:
>The people I use to play with at the local club in Denmark (Not much
>snooker is played in this country!) has the opinion, that a miss can
>only be called if the striker intended it to be a miss, meening: he
>did it on purpose!

Whether the miss was intentional or not has nothing to do with it.
--
Harry Baldwin, +(44)-(0)1924 477687, West Yorkshire, England
The above post is a figment of your imagination.
I claim no responsibility for anything you might think you've just read!

 
 
 

Snooker Rules: Foul and a Miss

Post by John Reddi » Tue, 23 Apr 1996 04:00:00


Quote:
> In "Rules of the games of Snooker and English Billiards" Section 3,
> 14b, it says:

> "If the striker, in making a stroke, fails to first hit a ball on when
> there is a clear path in a straight line from the cue-ball to any part
> af any ball that is or could be on, the referee shall call FOUL AND A
> MISS unless either player needed snookers before, or as a result of,
> the stroke played and the referee is satisfied that the miss was not
> intentional"

> I'm not english, so I have a little language-problem with these lines.
> Does the last part about "... and the referee is satisfied that the
> miss was not intentional" apply only to the "needing snooker"-thing or
> does it meen that a MISS can only be called if it was an intentional
> miss, and NEVER if it was due to misscuing or been not good enough to
> make the contact.

> The people I use to play with at the local club in Denmark (Not much
> snooker is played in this country!) has the opinion, that a miss can
> only be called if the striker intended it to be a miss, meening: he
> did it on purpose!

English is my native language, but I find this wording of the rule quite
obscure. I do not have any rules book available, but I have a copy of
the Rules of International Snooker issued by the Billiards Congress of
America, which  I would expect to be the same. However, it is not, and it
is quite easy to understand, thus :

"Miss: The striker shall to the best of his ability endeavour to hit the
ball on. If the referee considers the rule infringed he shall call foul and
a "miss." The incoming player (1) may play the ball(s) as they lie, or (2)
may request that the ball(s) be returned to the original position and have
the offending player play the stroke again. Note: if the ball on cannot
possibly be hit, the striker is judged to be attempting to hit the ball on."

In the English rules, the referee is required to judge the intention of
the player. It appears to me, from watching matches in the UK on TV that
the referee judges whether or nnot the player has the ability to hit a
ball which he missed. If he thinks he could have hit it, he declares a
miss and foul.
--
John Redding, Ottawa, Canada.

 
 
 

Snooker Rules: Foul and a Miss

Post by DBAllr » Wed, 24 Apr 1996 04:00:00

I'm going to Reykjavik next month.  Any American-style pool there?

DB Allred   OKC