Snooker Rules Question

Snooker Rules Question

Post by ta.. » Tue, 23 Sep 1997 04:00:00


Hiya...hoping you can clear up a snooker rules question that came up
tonight....

Blue, pink and black remaining;  player A fails to contact the blue
and leaves the cue ball fully snookered behind the pink.
Player B nominates the pink as "free ball" and plays a combination
(pink into blue), potting the blue.
Player A maintains it is a foul - that having nominated the pink as a
free ball, the shooter cannot then pocket another ball.
Player B maintains it is a perfectly legal shot, scoring the value of
the blue, and then proceeding to attempt the pink.

Is this a legal shot?

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by SnookerU » Wed, 24 Sep 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

>Hiya...hoping you can clear up a snooker rules question that came up
>tonight....

>Blue, pink and black remaining;  player A fails to contact the blue
>and leaves the cue ball fully snookered behind the pink.
>Player B nominates the pink as "free ball" and plays a combination
>(pink into blue), potting the blue.
>Player A maintains it is a foul - that having nominated the pink as a
>free ball, the shooter cannot then pocket another ball.
>Player B maintains it is a perfectly legal shot, scoring the value of
>the blue, and then proceeding to attempt the pink.

>Is this a legal shot?

It is a legal shot.
Player B made the correct call here.

-Mark Kulaga

????????????????????????
http://www.assemblylineproducts.com
????????????????????????

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by Bob Jewe » Wed, 24 Sep 1997 04:00:00

: Player B nominates the pink as "free ball" and plays a combination
: (pink into blue), potting the blue [which is the normal ball on].

Rule 10d (page S13 of the Sept 1995 rule book) states, in the section
about "free ball":

   If a ball on is potted, after the cue-ball struck the nominated ball
   first, or first simultaneously with a ball on, the ball on is scored
   and remains off the table.

so combinations at snooker when on the colors are legal with a free ball.
I suspect that more common is potting a red when a color is the free ball.

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by John Reddi » Thu, 25 Sep 1997 04:00:00

Quote:


>    If a ball on is potted, after the cue-ball struck the nominated ball
>    first, or first simultaneously with a ball on, the ball on is scored
>    and remains off the table.

> so combinations at snooker when on the colors are legal with a free ball.
> I suspect that more common is potting a red when a color is the free ball.

> Bob Jewett

Very interesting. I did not know that rule. I suppose one can actually pot
both balls and score twice the value of the ball on. Has anyone ever heard
of this happening?

--
John Redding, Ottawa, Canada.

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by SnookerU » Thu, 25 Sep 1997 04:00:00

Quote:



>>    If a ball on is potted, after the cue-ball struck the nominated ball
>>    first, or first simultaneously with a ball on, the ball on is scored
>>    and remains off the table.

>> so combinations at snooker when on the colors are legal with a free ball.
>> I suspect that more common is potting a red when a color is the free ball.

>> Bob Jewett

>Very interesting. I did not know that rule. I suppose one can actually pot
>both balls and score twice the value of the ball on. Has anyone ever heard
>of this happening?

>--
>John Redding, Ottawa, Canada.


You only get the value of the ball on, and if you pot them both, in this case
the pink is spotted again, and you score 5 points.  (Play continues).

Now if you mean in the case of a red being on and it is a free ball and both
go in, you score two points, the color is spotted and you are now "on" a color.

-Mark Kulaga

????????????????????????
http://www.assemblylineproducts.com
????????????????????????

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by Bob Jewe » Fri, 26 Sep 1997 04:00:00


: > so combinations at snooker when on the colors are legal with a free ball.
: > I suspect that more common is potting a red when a color is the free ball.

: Very interesting. I did not know that rule. I suppose one can actually pot
: both balls and score twice the value of the ball on. Has anyone ever heard
: of this happening?

Well, this is covered by Section 3, Rule 10e, which states:

   If both the nominated ball and a ball on are potted, only the ball
   on is scored unless it was a red, when each ball potted is scored.
   The free ball is then spotted and the ball on remains off the
   table.

So you are allowed multiple scores on reds but not the colors.

From the FAQ: ...

The International Billiards and Snooker Federation (IBSF) publishes the
official snooker rules used in amateur competitions worldwide. The rules
were rewritten for clarity late in 1994 and approved by the World
Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) in 1994 and the
IBSF in 1995. The new rule booklet can be ordered from your national
Snooker association, if it is a member of the IBSF, or directly from the
EASB at

        EASB
        Freya Broad
        27 Oakfield Road
        Clifton
        Bristol BS8 2AT
        UK

for 5 pounds and P&P. The BCA book has the IBSF rules too, but the 1995
book has the old version before the major rewrite with some minor
differences, notably the new foul-and-a-miss rule ...

[Note on 4/12/97: pending copyright clarification, the rules are
off-line.]

ENGLISH BILLIARDS
...

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by Mr Ps McWilliams » Sat, 04 Oct 1997 04:00:00

: Per World Standardized Rules
:  SECTION  3 Rule 10 (d)
:  This is a legal shot
: .>Blue, pink and black remaining;  player A fails to contact the blue
: >and leaves the cue ball fully snookered behind the pink.
: >Player B nominates the pink as "free ball" and plays a combination
: >(pink into blue), potting the blue.

Yes, this is ok. 5 points are scored and the blue stays down. Should both
the blue and pink be potted, only 5 points are scored, the blue stays down
and the pink is respotted.

Patrick

 
 
 

Snooker Rules Question

Post by Burtoner » Sat, 04 Oct 1997 04:00:00

Per World Standardized Rules
 SECTION  3 Rule 10 (d)
 This is a legal shot
.>Blue, pink and black remaining;  player A fails to contact the blue

Quote:
>and leaves the cue ball fully snookered behind the pink.
>Player B nominates the pink as "free ball" and plays a combination
>(pink into blue), potting the blue.