Question? Having it both ways.

Question? Having it both ways.

Post by D.Smyt » Tue, 12 Aug 1997 04:00:00


One thing about pool and snnoker is that any number of things can happen
which aren't covered by the rules...at least the rule books I have...

Case in point...
We were playing high and low. My opponent made the break and sunk
 both a high and a low ball.
-Should we have scrapped it and done another break.
-Would she have played high because the first ball to drop was the high.
-But if so, would it also be a scratch because she also sank one of my
 balls (low.)

Appreciate any expert opinions...
Even not so expert...

ds

 
 
 

Question? Having it both ways.

Post by Richard Iachett » Tue, 12 Aug 1997 04:00:00

Ds,

I assume by "high and low" you mean 8-ball?  If not, just ignore this post.
 Making balls on the break does not count for determining who is high and
who is low.  The table is still open until someone makes a called legal
shot after the break.  If the called ball is low, then that player is low,
etc.  Also, it is not a scratch if you sink one of your opponent's balls
provided the first ball the cue-ball contacted was one of your own.  See
the BCA page, http://www.bca-pool.com/rules/ for the official BCA rules.

--
Rich Iachetta
IBM Corporation



Quote:
> One thing about pool and snnoker is that any number of things can happen
> which aren't covered by the rules...at least the rule books I have...

> Case in point...
> We were playing high and low. My opponent made the break and sunk
>  both a high and a low ball.
> -Should we have scrapped it and done another break.
> -Would she have played high because the first ball to drop was the high.
> -But if so, would it also be a scratch because she also sank one of my
>  balls (low.)

> Appreciate any expert opinions...
> Even not so expert...

> ds


 
 
 

Question? Having it both ways.

Post by Ron Shepa » Tue, 12 Aug 1997 04:00:00

[...]

Quote:
>-Would she have played high because the first ball to drop was the high.

[...]

I don't know exactly what game you are playing, but I can tell you that I
know of _no_ game in which it matters which ball drops first into a pocket
during a shot.  The reason, I presume, is that such a rule would lead to
too many unnecessary arguments and disagreements.

And I guess if the players are moving around the table at relativistic
speeds, then the question is ill-posed even in principle. ;-)

$.02 -Ron Shepard

 
 
 

Question? Having it both ways.

Post by John Walk » Wed, 13 Aug 1997 04:00:00

Quote:


>[...]
>>-Would she have played high because the first ball to drop was the high.
>[...]
>I don't know exactly what game you are playing, but I can tell you that I
>know of _no_ game in which it matters which ball drops first into a pocket
>during a shot.  The reason, I presume, is that such a rule would lead to
>too many unnecessary arguments and disagreements.
>And I guess if the players are moving around the table at relativistic
>speeds, then the question is ill-posed even in principle. ;-)

What kind of relativist speed would swap the orders that balls fall?
Imaginary mass, anyone?

Yow!  I think we have the makings of another thread.

John

 
 
 

Question? Having it both ways.

Post by Mike H » Wed, 13 Aug 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

> One thing about pool and snnoker is that any number of things can
> happen
> which aren't covered by the rules...at least the rule books I have...

> Case in point...
> We were playing high and low. My opponent made the break and sunk
>  both a high and a low ball.
> -Should we have scrapped it and done another break.
> -Would she have played high because the first ball to drop was the
> high.
> -But if so, would it also be a scratch because she also sank one of my

>  balls (low.)

> Appreciate any expert opinions...
> Even not so expert...

> ds

   I'm assuming you're referring to 8-ball (I've heard of called high
and low, but that's not a very common name for it these days).  Anyway,
if that is the case, and if you are playing by the World Standardized
Rules as set by the BCA, then the table is still open.  It doesn't
matter what balls are pocketed on the break (except if it's the 8, but
let's just disregard that for this discussion).  The player stays at the
table, and has a choice of the group he/she wants to be, but calling a
ball and legally pocketing it.  I would suggest getting the latest copy
of the BCA official rule book.  That way, you know what the real rules
are for the games that you are playing.  It would also be wise to buy
the latest issue of it every 2 or 3 years or so.  Case in point, they
just recently (by recently I mean about 2 3 years ago) changed a rule in
9-ball.  All illegally pocketed balls stay down (except if it's the 9).
It used to be that you would spot illegally pocketed balls.  Times a
'changing.  Hope this clears things up a bit!
 
 
 

Question? Having it both ways.

Post by Carl W. De » Wed, 13 Aug 1997 04:00:00

Quote:

>One thing about pool and snnoker is that any number of things can happen
>which aren't covered by the rules...at least the rule books I have...

>Case in point...
>We were playing high and low. My opponent made the break and sunk
> both a high and a low ball.
>-Should we have scrapped it and done another break.
>-Would she have played high because the first ball to drop was the high.
>-But if so, would it also be a scratch because she also sank one of my
> balls (low.)

>Appreciate any expert opinions...
>Even not so expert...

>ds

 Hi DS,

The BCA rules say that the table is open the first shot after the
break regardless of what balls have been made or the number of each
that dropped. You may shoot at either stripes or solids in any case.

Carl W. Deem

Carbon, Alberta, Canada