FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

Post by P.S.MCWILLIA » Sat, 31 Aug 1996 04:00:00


Once and for all, as it is very difficult to follow the thread of some postings
due to multiple "attributions", this is the rule regarding a foul on the FINAL
black.

**** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME UNLESS
THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED AND THE
PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ****

This was posted in an article of 28th August, so please let's not have any more
qustions about it for a while!!!!!!!!!

Patrick

 
 
 

FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

Post by John Reddi » Sat, 31 Aug 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

> Once and for all, as it is very difficult to follow the thread of some postings
> due to multiple "attributions", this is the rule regarding a foul on the FINAL
> black.

> **** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME UNLESS
> THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED AND THE
> PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ****

> This was posted in an article of 28th August, so please let's not have any more
> qustions about it for a while!!!!!!!!!

> Patrick

Are you sure? this rule does not make sense.
If the fouler is 7 points ahead the black is respotted, but if he is 8
points ahead he loses the frame???????

--
John Redding, Ottawa, Canada.


 
 
 

FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

Post by Jeffrey Lee Hutt » Sun, 01 Sep 1996 04:00:00

: Once and for all, as it is very difficult to follow the thread of some postings
: due to multiple "attributions", this is the rule regarding a foul on the FINAL
: black.

: **** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME UNLESS
: THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED AND THE
: PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ****

: This was posted in an article of 28th August, so please let's not have any more
: qustions about it for a while!!!!!!!!!

: Patrick

Just in case anyone gets confused ... You mean, of course, that "a foul
on the final black ends the frame unless... ", which is what you wrote
on August 28.  You can get away with the foul if you are ahead by more
than the seven points which get awarded to your opponent.  A frame of
snooker just too long if it always comes down to one ball like in
eight, or nine, ball.

Just thought I would do my part and add to a thread that should be long
dead by now.

Jeff Hutter

 
 
 

FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

Post by Jari Kok » Sun, 01 Sep 1996 04:00:00


Quote:

>**** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME UNLESS
>THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED AND THE
>PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ****

You still forget the aggregate frame scores exception :-)

If a game is played with aggregate frame scores, the black is not
respotted on a tied frame unless the aggregate scores are tied at the
end of the last frame of the game.

Jari Kokko

PS. And don't take all this too seriously. On the Usenet, for any given
question there will always be wrong answers, corrections to wrong
answers, incorrect corrections, correct incorrections et cetera ad
infinitum. That's why we have FAQ lists.

JK

 
 
 

FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

Post by ScottMcF » Mon, 02 Sep 1996 04:00:00

Quote:

> Once and for all, as it is very difficult to follow the thread of some postings
> due to multiple "attributions", this is the rule regarding a foul on the FINAL
> black.

> **** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME UNLESS
> THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED AND THE
> PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ****

Sorry, but there's still something I don't quite get here:

I'm up by 8+ and my opponent has refused to concede.  We have only the
black left.  I miscue, or am snookered by a bank, or scratch the cue
ball, etc.....and I lose?

- - - YET - - -

I'm up by 7, commit a foul.....and we keep playing - - with the
possibility that it is still my shot?

Does this mean that one should never concede a frame, regardless of the
score?

Yours Confusedly,

Scott McFarlane

 
 
 

FINAL POSTING RE FOUL ON BLACK (SNOOKER)

Post by Nathan Web » Wed, 04 Sep 1996 04:00:00

Quote:


> > Once and for all, as it is very difficult to follow the thread of some postings
> > due to multiple "attributions", this is the rule regarding a foul on the FINAL
> > black.

> > **** COMMITTING A FOUL ON THE FINAL BLACK LOSES THE OFFENDER THE FRAME UNLESS
> > THE SCORES THEN BECOME LEVEL, IN WHICH CASE THE BLACK IS RESPOTTED AND THE
> > PLAYERS TOSS TO DECIDE WHO SHALL PLAY THE BLACK FROM THE "D". ****

due to inaccuracies in the above, here is MY version of the final
posting.

Committing a foul on the final black ENDS the frame, unless the scores
then become level, in which case the black is respotted and the players
toss to decide who shall play the black from the "D", except in the case
where aggregate scores are being recorded, where this is only done when
aggregate scores then become level and it is the FINAL FRAME of the
match.

In short, you can usually give up the frame once the pink has been
potted and the difference in scores is more than 7.  
otherwise it is a black ball game, and the above becomes relevant.

Nathan Webb