black ball rule - snooker

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Zaid Aboobake » Thu, 13 Feb 1997 04:00:00


What exactly is the snooker rule concerning sinking the black, and cue ball
in the same shot when the black is the last ball on the table.

curious.....

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Jonas ?dm » Thu, 13 Feb 1997 04:00:00

: What exactly is the snooker rule concerning sinking the black, and cue ball
: in the same shot when the black is the last ball on the table.

Well, it's a seven point foul and the frame ends (any foul ends the
frame, when only the black remains) unless the foul points equal the
players' scores.

You often see the professionals finish a frame-winning break by
sinking the black and the que-ball in the same shot. Then, they're
just testing their que-ball control and can of course afford the seven
point foul.

Jonas ?dman

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by SnookerU » Thu, 13 Feb 1997 04:00:00

#You often see the professionals finish a frame-winning break by
#sinking the black and the que-ball in the same shot. Then, they're
#just testing their que-ball control and can of course afford the seven
#point foul.

#Jonas ?dman

Indeed, or you will see them strike the ball rather hard so if it goes in,
it ends the frame
with a nice '''Pop'''.

Regards,
Mark Kulaga
########################################
Vice President
The United States Snooker Association
http://www.assemblylineproducts.com/ussa.html
Naperville, IL
########################################

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Jari Kokk » Thu, 13 Feb 1997 04:00:00


Quote:

> What exactly is the snooker rule concerning sinking the black, and cue ball
> in the same shot when the black is the last ball on the table.

1. The frame ends there, unless the scores are tied, or it's a game
played with aggregate scores.

2. If the scores are tied as a result of the foul (or the potting of
the last black), and it's not a game played with aggregate scores, the
black is respotted, the players draw lots for choice of turn, and the
player to strike first plays from in-hand.

3. If the game is played with aggregate scores, the black is
re-spotted only if the aggregate scores are tied in the last frame
after the last black is potted or a foul is made while only the black
remains.

4. In four-handed snooker, the winner of the drawing of lots chooses
which side plays next and the side to strike next decides which player
takes the first shot. Subsequently the order of play of the frame is
retained.

Exact enough?

Jari Kokko

PS. Maybe this should go in the FAQ?

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Bob Jewe » Fri, 14 Feb 1997 04:00:00

[about the rules for when the final black does or does not end the
frame.]

: PS. Maybe this should go in the FAQ?

Except it is about the same length as the total present section
on snooker rules.  Is there a web site that covers some of the
details, or is the official rule book the only complete source?

Bob Jewett

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Jari Kokk » Fri, 14 Feb 1997 04:00:00

Quote:


> Except it is about the same length as the total present section
> on snooker rules.  Is there a web site that covers some of the
> details, or is the official rule book the only complete source?

It's a bit long admittedly. Exceptions of exceptions...

Maybe a mention of the world famous WWW snooker clinic hosted by
guess-who should go in the FAQ?

The URL is http://www.ifi.uio.no/~hermunda/Snooker/Clinic/

Jari

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Jonas ?dm » Fri, 14 Feb 1997 04:00:00

: Maybe a mention of the world famous WWW snooker clinic hosted by
: guess-who should go in the FAQ?
: The URL is http://www.ifi.uio.no/~hermunda/Snooker/Clinic/

No offense, Jari, your Q&A archive is really good, but if any URL
should be put in the FAQ, it's where the rules are:

http://www.ifi.uio.no/~hermunda/Snooker/Doc/rules.shtml

Jonas ?dman

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Jari Kokk » Fri, 14 Feb 1997 04:00:00


Quote:

> No offense, Jari, your Q&A archive is really good

None taken, and thanks.

Quote:
> but if any URL should be put in the FAQ, it's where the rules are:
>  http://www.ifi.uio.no/~hermunda/Snooker/Doc/rules.shtml

I thought that one was already there. It should be, I agree.

Jari Kokko

 
 
 

black ball rule - snooker

Post by Bob Jewe » Fri, 14 Feb 1997 04:00:00


: > but if any URL should be put in the FAQ, it's where the rules are:
: >  http://www.ifi.uio.no/~hermunda/Snooker/Doc/rules.shtml

: I thought that one was already there. It should be, I agree.

Only the first part of the URL was there without a mention that the
rules were available under it.  I have added the rules URL to the snooker
rules section of the FAQ.

Bob Jewett