Snooker: Miss all colours/Nominating colours

Snooker: Miss all colours/Nominating colours

Post by Flemming Koch Jens » Sun, 02 Jun 1996 04:00:00


When I play friendly games (That's all I've ever played = no
tournaments yet!) and a player fails to hit any colour (= non-red)
we use to give a penalty equal to the value of the colour the player
says he was aiming at, or the colour which was obvious the one he
intended to hit. But reading the rules I get the impression that the
penalty should allways be 7 points:

section 3.12 "Penalties" (d) a penalty of seven points is incurred if
the striker ... (vi) after potting a Red or free ball nominated as a
Red, commits a foul before nominating a colour.

The idea is supported by another rule in the same paragraph:

section 3.12 "Penalties" (d) a penalty ... (iii) plays at Reds, or a
free ball followed by a Red, in succesive strokes.

I would like to know what is right. I see all the snooker thats on
Eurosport, and I think there was a situation when the referee gave a
penalty based on judgement, but I'm not sure. But I've also seen
Parrott pick up the green ball without getting a penalty!!! so I don't
know if the referee is always to be trusted on tv.

There is another thing I would like to know.

I have often heard that a player always have to nominated when a
colour is on, but it is custom not to do so, if it is obvious.
I have not been able to find any indication of this in the rules. It
says that a striker always have to nominate the colour if requested by
the referee, and that he is to have a penalty of 7 points if he
ignores this request.

section 3.12 "Penalties" (d) a penalty ... (v) fails to declare which
ball he is on when requested to do so by the referee...

 
 
 

Snooker: Miss all colours/Nominating colours

Post by Jari Kok » Wed, 12 Jun 1996 04:00:00



Quote:
>When I play friendly games (That's all I've ever played = no
>tournaments yet!) and a player fails to hit any colour (= non-red)
>we use to give a penalty equal to the value of the colour the player
>says he was aiming at, or the colour which was obvious the one he
>intended to hit.

You have been playing right.

Quote:
>But reading the rules I get the impression that the
>penalty should allways be 7 points:

>section 3.12 "Penalties" (d) a penalty of seven points is incurred if
>the striker ... (vi) after potting a Red or free ball nominated as a
>Red, commits a foul before nominating a colour.

Nope. Reading the rules seems to be your problem :-)
You have to know what constitutes a nomination. It is not the same as
declaration (saying it out loud). A nomination is usually just what
you've been doing: the ball you are obviously aiming for is the
nominated ball. You have to declare only if the referee asks you to.
It is wise also to volunteer a declaration when there's a possibility
of ambiguity, e.g. two colours near each other.

Quote:
>The idea is supported by another rule in the same paragraph:

>section 3.12 "Penalties" (d) a penalty ... (iii) plays at Reds, or a
>free ball followed by a Red, in succesive strokes.

This rule is intended for those occasions when you forget that you're
on a colour and shoot at a red twice in a row.

Quote:
>I would like to know what is right. I see all the snooker thats on
>Eurosport, and I think there was a situation when the referee gave a
>penalty based on judgement, but I'm not sure. But I've also seen
>Parrott pick up the green ball without getting a penalty!!! so I don't
>know if the referee is always to be trusted on tv.

Referees are humans, too! Parrott picking up the green ball is funny
though. Was he the striker in turn then? If not, then it wouldn't be a
foul except if it was unsportsmanlike.

Quote:
>I have not been able to find any indication of this in the rules. It
>says that a striker always have to nominate the colour if requested by
>the referee, and that he is to have a penalty of 7 points if he
>ignores this request.

If he wilfully ignored the request, he'd get more than seven points
penalty! He'd be taken for a long talk and walk!

Quote:
>section 3.12 "Penalties" (d) a penalty ... (v) fails to declare which
>ball he is on when requested to do so by the referee...

Whoa! This is new to me! I really have to get the new book now.

Jari Kokko