Shaft Cleaning Question

Shaft Cleaning Question

Post by JNICKT » Fri, 28 Jan 2000 04:00:00


There is this guy in my area (Worcester, MA).  His nickname is "The One-Armed
Bandit"; I'm sure you can guess why.  
He used to use an ashtray as a bridge until someone made him this steel
free-standing contraption thing that he put his cue through.  He shoots, then
lifts his cue off the table and it slides down the shaft very dramatically.  
Anyways, He's a very good player and I asked him if he ever played in
tournaments he said he couldn't because they wouldn't let him use his steel
contraption thing.  Wouldn't that be legal as a mechanical bridge???

jim nichols

 
 
 

Shaft Cleaning Question

Post by Fred Agni » Fri, 28 Jan 2000 04:00:00

Quote:

>Regarding which, by the way, is it legal for George Breedlove to
>break in 9-ball as he does with both feet off the floor?

I think this an interesting question.  If his feet leave the floor before he
shoots, then I'd say no.  But if a hair of shoe is touching the carpet at
tip/ball separation, then I'd say yes.  Got any videos to prove it one way
or the other?

 
 
 

Shaft Cleaning Question

Post by barenad » Fri, 28 Jan 2000 04:00:00

Quote:

> ...by the way, is it legal for George Breedlove to
> break in 9-ball as he does with both feet off the floor?

I never thought about this.  A lot of pros end up with both feet in the
air during their break shots.  I wonder if anyone (Earl?) has ever
raised a stink about this.

--
Dave

* Sent from RemarQ http://www.remarq.com The Internet's Discussion Network *
The fastest and easiest way to search and participate in Usenet - Free!

 
 
 

Shaft Cleaning Question

Post by barenad » Fri, 28 Jan 2000 04:00:00

My opinion here is that the tournament director(s) in question are
(a)ignorant of the rules, and (b)not very understanding of a person's
physical handicap.

--
Dave

Quote:

> There is this guy in my area (Worcester, MA).  His nickname is
> "The One-Armed Bandit"; I'm sure you can guess why.
> He used to use an ashtray as a bridge until someone made him
> this steel free-standing contraption thing that he put his cue
> through.  He shoots, then lifts his cue off the table and it
> slides down the shaft very dramatically.
> Anyways, He's a very good player and I asked him if he ever
> played in tournaments he said he couldn't because they wouldn't
> let him use his steel contraption thing.  Wouldn't that be legal
> as a mechanical bridge???

* Sent from RemarQ http://www.remarq.com The Internet's Discussion Network *
The fastest and easiest way to search and participate in Usenet - Free!
 
 
 

Shaft Cleaning Question

Post by Tom Simpso » Fri, 28 Jan 2000 04:00:00

On Thu, 27 Jan 2000 08:54:49 -0800, barenada

::> ...by the way, is it legal for George Breedlove to
::> break in 9-ball as he does with both feet off the floor?
::
::I never thought about this.  A lot of pros end up with both feet in the
::air during their break shots.  I wonder if anyone (Earl?) has ever
::raised a stink about this.

My understanding of the rule is that your foot has to be
touching the floor at the moment of impact. If those guys
are jumping up in the air before impact, they're wasting
their energy. The jumps we're seeing are follow-through,
IMO.

        tom simpson

 
 
 

Shaft Cleaning Question

Post by JNICKT » Sat, 29 Jan 2000 04:00:00

I'd assume that Breedlove's foot (or feet) are touching the ground as the tip
of his cue strikes the cueball, thus being a legal shot.  I can't see how (or
why?) he would hit the cue ball while he was airborne (unless he gets a running
start leaps and tries to spear the cueball - which of course he doesn't do)

Jim Nichols