8 ball rules (clarification on opening shot)

8 ball rules (clarification on opening shot)

Post by rafaelnor.. » Sat, 15 Sep 2012 10:52:30


Can you open the rack by making a combination shot (shooting solid to pocket stripes). There seems to be some confusion in my group as to whether you can do this.
 
 
 

8 ball rules (clarification on opening shot)

Post by Jack » Sat, 15 Sep 2012 22:45:26


Quote:
> Can you open the rack by making a combination shot (shooting solid to pocket stripes). There seems to be some confusion in my group as to whether you can do this.

Depends on what your group rules are.  There are 1000's of "groups" and
every one has it's own rule set.

--
Jack
Add Life to your Days not Days to your Life.
http://jbstein.com

 
 
 

8 ball rules (clarification on opening shot)

Post by Bill » Sun, 16 Sep 2012 00:31:28



Quote:

> Can you open the rack by making a combination shot (shooting
> solid to pocket stripes). There seems to be some confusion
> in my group as to whether you can do this.

3.4 Open Table / Choosing Groups
Before groups are determined, the table is said to be ?open,? and before
each shot, the shooter must call his intended ball. If the shooter
legally pockets his called ball, the corresponding group becomes his,
and his opponent is assigned the other group. If he fails to legally
pocket his called ball, the table remains open and play passes to the
other player. When the table is ?open?, any object ball may be struck
first except the eight ball.

Above from the following link, click on "3. Eight Ball"
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play

More rules links here...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eight-ball

 
 
 

8 ball rules (clarification on opening shot)

Post by John Blac » Sun, 16 Sep 2012 00:35:31


Quote:

> > Can you open the rack by making a combination shot (shooting solid to pocket stripes). There seems to be some confusion in my group as to whether you can do this.

> Depends on what your group rules are.  There are 1000's of "groups" and
> every one has it's own rule set.

True, but tell them yes, you can do that if the table is still "open", meaning per whatever
rule set you are playing by, it has not been determined who is stripes and who is solids.

John Black.

 
 
 

8 ball rules (clarification on opening shot)

Post by Akaash Prasa » Wed, 19 Sep 2012 14:28:46

A player shall be permitted to ask his/her teammates which group of balls he/she is playing no time-out.  However, if a teammate tells the player that he/she is about to shoot at the wrong group without the player asking, it will be considered a time-out, and if that player already had his/her time-out, then a foul has been committed and his/her opponent has Ball-in-Hand.    If you find yourself confused as to which group of balls you are playing, ask your teammates before you approach the table to shoot.

http://www.bcbcpoolleague.info/Rule%20Clarification.html