SKUSA: ProMoto Tour Round 1 - Jacksonville

SKUSA: ProMoto Tour Round 1 - Jacksonville

Post by » Tue, 07 Mar 2000 04:00:00

JACKSONVILLE, FL -- The opening round of the nine-race Superkarts! USA
North American ProMoto Tour 2K was a lucrative one for Baroda, MI's Chris
Lobaugh. The lead driver for his family-owned MRP racing operation kicked
off the 2000 national championship season with a strong victory in the
headline Shift Kart Formula S1 final, edging Wisconsin's Bobby Wilson
(Trackmagic) and Florida's Andrew Lewis (Birel) after a hard-fought

The talented driver was the man to beat throughout weekend as he began his
successful run in the 10-lap heat races, where he swept all three sprints
to secure the pole position in the 20-mile / 28-lap main event that capped
off the exciting weekend. Held at the fast 103rd Street Sports Complex in
Jacksonville, FL on March 3-5, this event began SKUSA's second season of
national championship competition. As a result of his dominating
performance, Lobaugh (Birel) has taken the first step towards contending
for this season's title, leaving Florida with the outright points lead.

Wilson was tops in qualifying and was the early race leader in the final
as well. After Lobaugh took the lead from him at the midway point in the
race, Wilson seemed ready to settle in for a fight to the finish when a
blown head gasket robbed his Honda CR125 of the top end power he would
need to challenge for the win. Undaunted, Wilson stayed on the power to
take second, an impressive performance to begin his first season of
national level competition. Lobaugh went on to win by less than a second
(0.528 secs.) and took home a total of $1,100 for his efforts, winning
$600 for the victory and the $500 that accompanied the K&N Clean Sweep
Award, a prize offered to any Formula S1 driver who can sweep all three of
the weekend's heat races.

Home state driver Ben Moore (Tonykart) captured the checkered flag in the
semi-pro JM Racing Formula S2 class (125cc), pulling away from the field
consistently to top Canadians J.W. Urlin (First Kart) and Juliana
Chiovitti (Birel). In the CTS Formula K1 (80cc Sr.) division, Oklahoma's
Matt Farber (MBA) made the most of the mechanical failures that sidelined
the two early-race leaders, Matt Champagne (MBA) and Berek McEwen
(Interkart). Florida driver Jeff Schaab (Trackmagic) came from the tail of
the field to finish second while Minnesota's Jason King (CRG) persevered
through a long and troublesome weekend to complete the podium in third.
The final class on the SKUSA ProMoto Tour docket is the KGB 80 Jr.
division. After a last lap / last corner wreck involving a pair of
backmarkers partially blocked the track and collected leader Patrick Daily
(MBA) and then-second-place-driver Kyle Wharff (Trackmagic), Texas pilot
Preston Peebles guided his KGB 80 through the carnage to score the win.
Local driver Andre Des Marais (BRM) took second while Kyle Weigand
finished third.

This event was the first stop on the four-race Atlantic Zone schedule and
the east coast teams will now head to the 1.3-mile Talladega Grand Prix
facility on April 21-23 for Round #2. The west coast Pacific Zone will
begin its first of four events at the newly-lengthened and resurfaced
Formula K Raceway in Phoenix, AZ on March 31-April 2. When both series
have been completed, the separate points standings from the two schedules
will be combined and the championship will be decided at the Millennium
World Finals held in the September at the Oklahoma Motorsports Complex.