Is this a foul, strip, or clean?

Is this a foul, strip, or clean?

Post by Joshua A. La » Tue, 30 Mar 1993 06:56:33


I asked my team mates about this yesterday, and none of them could come close
to agreeing on the matter, so I bring it to you:

Yesterday at a tournament, our team, while on defense, was playing zone defense
with a three man cup. I was marking, and was forcing hard forehand. My stance
was with my arms spread, planar with my body, and I was not moving. The
thrower, in an attempt to throw, brough his hand back, thus hitting my
(stationary) hand with the disk. The disk remained in his hand, but he
ended up throwing it directly into the man opposite me in the cup (I don't
know if this was the result of the contact or just a bad throw). He didn't
call anything, but my question is, could he have?

--
 Joshua A. Laff, CRL operator, UofI          (217) 384-6249

_______________________________________________________________________________
Disclaimer: If I were speaking for the UofI, I wouldn't be paying tuition.

 
 
 

Is this a foul, strip, or clean?

Post by Don Kirk » Thu, 01 Apr 1993 03:44:45


Quote:
>Yesterday at a tournament, our team, while on defense, was playing zone defense
>with a three man cup. I was marking, and was forcing hard forehand. My stance
>was with my arms spread, planar with my body, and I was not moving. The
>thrower, in an attempt to throw, brough his hand back, thus hitting my
>(stationary) hand with the disk. The disk remained in his hand, but he
>ended up throwing it directly into the man opposite me in the cup (I don't
>know if this was the result of the contact or just a bad throw). He didn't
>call anything, but my question is, could he have?

In the ninth edition rules:
XIII. THE THROWER
4. The thrower has the right to pivot in any direction.  However, once
the marker has established a legal defensive position the thrower may
not pivot into him/her.

From your description it sounds pretty clear cut.  You had established
position, he moved into you.  If he had completed the pass you could
have called a foul on him.  Although I believe this rule is intended to
avoid things like shoving the marker out of the way and making a pass.


Don Kirkby                | Whose sig file was something to see.
Pulmonary Research Lab    | He typed it all in,
1081 Burrard Street       | And then with a grin
Vancouver, B.C., Canada   | He hit Ctrl-X Ctrl-C.
V6Z 1Y6                   |                       -- me

 
 
 

Is this a foul, strip, or clean?

Post by Joshua A. La » Thu, 01 Apr 1993 05:51:53

:)In the ninth edition rules:
:)XIII. THE THROWER
:)4. The thrower has the right to pivot in any direction.  However, once
:)the marker has established a legal defensive position the thrower may
:)not pivot into him/her.

:)From your description it sounds pretty clear cut.  You had established
:)position, he moved into you.  If he had completed the pass you could

That makes sense. One of the things one of my teammates was saying to me,
however, was that since it was my hand that he hit, and since it's likely
that hands are usually moving (although I'm pretty sure mine weren't), it
could be called against me. I'm inclined to interpret the rules as the
foul was on him, but I'd still like to hear thoughts on this part, too...

--
 Joshua A. Laff, CRL operator, UofI          (217) 384-6249

_______________________________________________________________________________
Disclaimer: If I were speaking for the UofI, I wouldn't be paying tuition.

 
 
 

Is this a foul, strip, or clean?

Post by Gregory B Lu » Sat, 03 Apr 1993 00:15:50


Quote:

>:)In the ninth edition rules:
>:)XIII. THE THROWER
>:)4. The thrower has the right to pivot in any direction.  However, once
>:)the marker has established a legal defensive position the thrower may
>:)not pivot into him/her.

>:)From your description it sounds pretty clear cut.  You had established
>:)position, he moved into you.  If he had completed the pass you could

>That makes sense. One of the things one of my teammates was saying to me,
>however, was that since it was my hand that he hit, and since it's likely
>that hands are usually moving (although I'm pretty sure mine weren't), it
>could be called against me. I'm inclined to interpret the rules as the
>foul was on him, but I'd still like to hear thoughts on this part, too...

>--
> Joshua A. Laff, CRL operator, UofI          (217) 384-6249

>_______________________________________________________________________________
>Disclaimer: If I were speaking for the UofI, I wouldn't be paying tuition.

I prefer to use the analogy of basketball.  The referees in college
basketball seem to distinguish between hands/arms/feet/legs and the
body.  If I move into your body which has established position, they
call charging.  If I move into your extended appendages--even if they
have "established" position, the college basketball refs tend to call
a defensive foul.

There's no way for a person to note whether his arms are moving in the
heat of a point.  The other interpretation above, I think, will lead to
fights.  I think what I have said will be much easier to "referee"
for the players involved.

Greg